phone calls to car speakers

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by Red Fuji, Aug 9, 2013.

  1. Red Fuji macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #1
    iphone 4/4s calls are not going to the car speakers.

    It was working fine when I was using a 3.5mm pin wire from the headphone Jack to radio aux input. I decided to simplify by getting something that can handle both functions with one connection from iphon-charger and phone calls. The wire i got has a 30 pin connector at one end and branches out to two wires;one wire is a USB and other is a 3.5mm pin. It routes music to car speakers fine but wont route phone calls. Is that an iphone limitaiton or a wiring limitation? It really sucks because I was hoping to have just one wire coming out of iphone instead of two like I had before.
    :cool:
     
  2. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #2
    Sounds like it's because you're now using the dock connector instead of the headphone jack.
     
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    That's right. Phone calls do not route through the 30-pin connector.

    You could get an A2DP Bluetooth receiver/handsfree such as this one. That way you'd be down to one cord (power) on your phone.
     
  4. Red Fuji thread starter macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #4


    Thanks for the Belkin suggestion but i wish i dont need it - plus I want to play iphone stored music over the car speakers-hence the aux cable.
    Content stored on phone can play through the 30 pin connector but phone calls can’t ?? – why why Apple? was that too much for Apple?
     
  5. ninaspears macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    can anyone advise me that how can i connect 3.5mm jack phone with number of speakers?
     
  6. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Get one of these:

    http://www.amazon.com/FlexSMART-Transmitter-Hands-Free-Blackberry-Smartphones/dp/B003PPGOC0

    Connects to your phone with Bluetooth and transmit either over Aux or FM. You can stream your music (controlled on your phone) and switches to hands-free when you get a call. It also has a USB port to charge your phone. I've been using this particular model for several months with no issue.
     
  7. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #7
    The device I linked to, and others like it, will route whatever you play to your car's aux port. Either I don't understand what you mean or you don't understand the device.

    ----------

    As far as I can tell that device doesn't have an aux "out". It has an aux "in" according to the amazon.com page.
     
  8. Red Fuji thread starter macrumors member

    Red Fuji

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    USA-Pacifc Standard Time
    #8

    BrianBaughn,
    Thanks for the clarification-i didnt study the device close enough; that's a great solution ! i also see they make one without blue tooth ($30 less) but i like the Bluetooth version :) -one less wire to phone.

    1. about how long is the wire from the cig jack to the Call/Play button?
     
  9. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #9
    Don't know for sure. Looks like it's the standard 3ft.

    You should shop around for these. There might be a better/cheaper offering from a different company.
     
  10. madsci954, Aug 13, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2013

    madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    Unless that's an older version, it has both Aux in and out, I'm currently using the Aux out cable on my unit.

    Update: not sure if that image is old or the unit is the old one, but my unit has a 5V/1A USB port where as this one has a 5V/600mA port. Also: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71B45aKJjiL._SL1200_.jpg
     

Share This Page