Phone Calls

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by crashoverride77, Feb 9, 2015.

  1. crashoverride77, Feb 9, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015

    crashoverride77 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #1
    Can anyone actually make phone calls from the Mac by pressing the phone button next to a number while in the contact apps. Nothing happens when I press that button so the only way to make calls on my Mac is by highlighting the number and right clicking it. I still got this behaviour even with 10.10.2.
     
  2. dZp macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #2
    Clicking the phone icon next to a number works fine for me on 10.10.2.
     
  3. crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #3
    Himmhhh. Thanks for your reply I will try turning it off and back on to see what happens. I am having this since yosemite was released. :confused:
     
  4. crashoverride77, Feb 9, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015

    crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #4
    I actually fixed it now, not sure really what it was. First I thought it was the international pre fix that caused issues (+**), had similar problems with iOS 8. However once I edited a number through the contacts app on my mac it now works even with the pre fix. Weird, I had to basically edit all my numbers even though they are now still exactly the same.
     
  5. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #5
    Thanks, might give this a try myself.

    I could receive incoming calls on my mid-2011 iMac but since I made the switch to the late 2014 Mac Mini (and trying different steps) I'm unable to make outbound calls etc.
     
  6. crashoverride77, Feb 13, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2015

    crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #6

    I also couldn't make outbound calls via Continuity when I had a 0 and the international prefix (+** (0) *********). Getting rid of the 0 made outbound calls work, before I could make the actual call but was greeted by an error message from the operator.
    On my Mac tho I still had to edit, but not actually change, my contacts to make it work by just pressing the phone button instead of highlighting the number and right clicking. Try those and let me know if it worked.
     
  7. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #7
    Hello,

    I've done that and unfortunately it's still not working for me here.

    There seems to be an issue between my iPhone and Mac Mini. It's aware the phone is there (and on the same iCloud/WiFi accounts) it's just dialling out which is posing a problem.
     
  8. crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #8
    What happens when you dial out, do you get an operator error or does it not even make the call?
    Does it work on other devices if you have them i.e iPad?
    Does SMS forwarding and handoff work?

    Make sure Wifi, Bluetooth, Continuity and Phone Calls (in messages) are turned on on all devices. Also all devices need to use the same Apple ID email because I heard that it otherwise could causes issues.
    It's weird I never really have problems with handoff or continuity I just had these 2 weird instances where a) I got an operator error due to the 0 after int. Prefix and b) the Mac thing I described in this thread both which are fixed now
    Let me know how it's going I'll gladly try to help.
     
  9. iGeek2014, Feb 23, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2015

    iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #9
    When I attempt to dial out it just comes up "Call Failed" and asks me to try again or cancel.

    Bluetooth is turned on, I'm on the same WiFi network and using the same iCloud.

    Am currently speaking to Melissa on Apple's Support Chat to see what she suggests.

    Really appreciate your endeavours to help me. It's weird as I could receive calls on my mid-2011 iMac (I never made an outbound call) so something's gone wrong somewhere.

    SMS Relay is working perfectly.
     
  10. crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #10
    Continiuity/handoff and phone calls also turned on?
    Ios and OS X updated or are you using betas?
    Possibly try signing out and in of iMessage, FaceTime and/or Icloud again with restarts in between.
    Let me know what Melissa says, I'm quite curious what apple suggests since a few people apparently have problems.
     
  11. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #11
    I'll attempt a sign out of iMessage/FaceTime/iCloud once I've finished chatting with Melissa.

    I'm using the latest stable versions of OS X Yosemite and iOS 8 (no betas).

    She's going to transfer me to the specialist iPhone team now.
     
  12. crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #12
    Haha I'm sure she is awesome, as soon as I speak to Apple support I normally forget that I'm pissed of with an issue just because they are usually very nice and helpful.
     
  13. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #13
    Yes, I must admit I've yet to encounter a 'bad' apple! ;)
     
  14. crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #14
    Any solutions yet?
     
  15. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #15
    I'm speaking to Cherie now and she's going to ask me to try either a new user profile or safe boot in a moment.
     
  16. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #16
    Well I should've listened to myself in the first place.

    Because Apple do not include an internal microphone on the Mac Mini (late 2014) iPhone Cellular Calls do not work unless you've an external microphone.

    Whilst I was waiting for Cherie to check something I plugged my EarPods into the Headphone socket.

    Placed an outbound call, and voila. It worked!

    Thank you for your help, mind. I appreciate it!
     
  17. crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #17
    Oh duh :rolleyes:
    First thing I should have recommended was to check your microphone since you have a Mac mini. It's always the simplest things that actually causes the issue. Now you just need buy a cheap external mic and you are good to go. Anyway glad it's sorted.
     
  18. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #18
    Duh indeed. I've been trying to resolve it pretty much since I bought my Mac Mini :eek:.

    I'll find a cheap webcamera/microphone and I'll be good to go.

    And whilst the more clever users of the Internet would've twigged that you need an external mic I feel Apple should mention it on their website.
     
  19. crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #19
    So true, thats why I wasn't even thinking about it since pretty much all Apple devices have microphones by now with the Mac mini and Mac pro being the exception.
     
  20. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #20
    I'd better get shopping then, haha.

    Thanks once again.
     
  21. crashoverride77 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #21
    You are welcome.
     

Share This Page