phone locked up after trying to update firmware (after jailbreak)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by killbot, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. killbot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #1
    So I know this guy who I told to jailbreak his phone (I did mine myself) and he ultimately screwed it up .. this is what he tells me he did, what's needed to get it working again?

     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    First off NEVER us ziphone, it sucks and can damage your phone. Next, tell him to put the phone into DFU mode and perform a fresh restore. Lastly, download quickpwn from here and do the jailbreak with that.
     
  3. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #3
    That's what I figured .. now I also have an iphone and it's jailbroken (quickpwn) .. will I be able to do his restore on the same mac I use with my phone?
     
  4. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    good job using the search feature :) I love when people know it exists. Yes that is the same thing. It is perfectly fine if you jailbreak it on your mac. It all works the same.
     
  6. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #6
    well yeah I figure it won't matter between mac and pc, I was just curious if already having an iphone recognized by itunes etc on my mac will cause problems when I try to do a completely different iphone..
     
  7. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #7
    No the mac can work/sync with multiple iphones. No need to worry. :)
     
  8. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #8
    ok great .. got an update:

    my friend just tried the link you sent over, he says he got a message saying "you need a sim card that is supported" which doesn't make any sense to me ..
     
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    He either clicked "no" on the question that asks if you are using an official carrier. Or his phone is locked and he needs to unlock it.
     
  10. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #10
    He's not the most saavy of computer users, so I'm guessing he may have pressed no. It's probably locked (as we are in Bermuda, not in the US) .. quickpwn will unlock the phone as well right?
     
  11. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #11
    Hey Scott,

    so he finally gave up and gave his iphone to me to fix .. I tried to enter DFU mode and got this error in iTunes .. I haven't seen what to do for it yet..

     
  12. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #12
    sorry, an update - I held down the power button then plugged it into itunes, it then said it found an iphone to restore, I pressed yes and now it's downloading the software update .. but I have the custom ipsw on my desktop? How do I tell it to get that instead...
     
  13. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #13
    Sorry again! Another update, I forgot to press the "alt" key ... I should think before I post..
     
  14. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #14
    dfu mode is disabled in 10.5.6 you need to reenable it with instructions from here http://blog.iphone-dev.org/ and then try again.

    And yes if it is a 2g iphone quickpwn can unlock it if you check the box that says "unlock phone" then it will unlock it for you. follow the instructions here.
     
  15. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #15
    or you can use a usb hub.
     
  16. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #16
    well it's doing flashing the baseband now so let's see what happens .. I didn't check anything that says "activate" so I may have to go through this all again...
     
  17. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #17
    Ok, it came back up and it said "unlock pin" with a screen that says Enter PIN - 3 attempts remaining!! doh!
     
  18. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #18
    that sucks... that means that the sim card has a pin on it. I hope you remember what it is. ;)
     
  19. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #19
    more like I hope HE remembers what it is .. I would call his carrier, but I don't even know who they are... grrr
     
  20. killbot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #20
    funny story - I deduced which carrier it was based on the prefix numbers (and some calling around) and I asked them what the pin code was .. after two failed attempts they said try 9999 and I said "are you sure??" they said ok, try the last 4 digits of the phone number ... I did it and it worked - the lady on the phone goes "it worked" (in a shocked tone) .. I said - don't be so surprised!!!

    Thanks for the help fellas
     
  21. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #21
    Just for future reference, you can jailbreak/unlock WITHOUT a SIM card. You just have to tell Pwnagetool to "activate" the phone ;)

    Also, I'm on 10.5.6 and had no problem at all doing a jailbreak. I believe it's only on newer Macbooks that the USB issues arise. My Macbook is 2 years old, and no problem at all.
     

Share This Page