Photo booth issues:

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by spitkicker, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. spitkicker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia-USA
    #1
    I opened photobooth and now it is showing that a video camera is not connected icon.

    But I have an iMac and the camera is built in.
    It was working fine earlier today. The only thing that I can recall is installing and apple security update and a garage band update.
    I checked ichat.. and my camera is working when i do videochat.

    Any ideas on what my issue could be?
     
  2. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #2
    Did you try doing a restart yet? Sometimes things get a little weird, that happened to me the other night when using iMovie, I used it for a couple of hours and then all of a sudden it crashed and then upon relaunch it said no camera connected and I have the iMac as well.

    Instead of a simple restart I would recommend resetting the PRAM. This will clear out memory that may be acting weird and causing issues. After the chime rings during start up hold down "command+option+P+R" until the chime rings again then let go and allow your Mac to start up.
     
  3. spitkicker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia-USA
    #3
    I'm going to try that now.. hopefully it works.

    I'm sure that my camera is fine tho.. because I am still using it with iChat.
    after doing some research I have found that photo booth might not be trying to access the isight camera or "turn it active" as you will.

    Somehow the updates could have messed with the settings...

    A question I have for you guy is, how would I go about reinstalling photo booth without having to reinstall my entire leopard system?

    Any further help or thought would be appreciated
     
  4. spitkicker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia-USA
    #4
    and... resetting PRAM did not work.... man this is getting frustrating
     
  5. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #5
    try deleting the photo booth preference file "com.apple.PhotoBooth.plist" in ~/Library/Preferences
     
  6. spitkicker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia-USA
    #6
    :( That didn't work either...

    If I can't come up with any answers I think I'm just gonna back up all my stuff and re-install Leopard.
    or should I try to restore a working version of my computer with Time Machine?

    Wait a second is it even possible to install a new version of leopard over my current version of leopard?
     
  7. spitkicker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia-USA
    #7
    well just an updated.. I fixed it apparently...

    there was an update that came out around christmas.. and it makes my camera not be initiated by photobooth.
    I'm sure it's the new security update.

    Anyways... I used time machine to go back to an earlier version.... and boom it works...

    so if anyone else has issues this could be a remedy for you...

    thanks for all the help everyone.
     
  8. chiclets macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    Also having Photobooth issues since Leopard Upgrade

    Will there be a patch coming out for this? I too can use my iSight with iChat, but the screen is black when I open Photobooth. Anyone else have this problem and know if there is a solution? I don't have a previous backup through time machine before the last security update...:(

    :confused:
     

Share This Page