Photo Editing for Dummies?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by AnnaFugazi, Feb 11, 2009.

1. AnnaFugazi macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I'm an amateur photographer who is wanting to learn how to edit my photos - what the different adjustments are for, when to use them, etc. In the past, I've just used the 'auto-fix' feature in PSE (on windows machines), but I really want to learn how to do this myself.

I'm using the trial of Aperture right now for organization/tagging (which I'm planning to buy as I get an educational discount), so anything geared towards that would be good.

Thanks!

2. titaniummd macrumors member

If you want to gradually break into editing. Photoshop Elements 6 is really good, then if you want to go advanced, then get Photoshop. Aperture is great if you have an SLR for RAW images.

3. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

Digital Skunk

For starters, do you mean TONING your images, i.e. color correction, image adjustment, etc?

Or do you mean photo editing, i.e. making selections, top rated, rejecting images, etc?

For toning, check the links above. For editing find a local college professor or photo professional (real pro, with formal training/YEARs of experience around others better than he/she) to help you decide which images are keepers and which aren't.

4. AnnaFugazi thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks guys, that has all been really helpful.

In response to your questions, I just got a dSLR, so I will likely start shooting in RAW format. As a starting point, I want to learn how to do the tonal adjustments. Once I get the picture into Aperture (or PSE), I'm a bit lost as to what to do next. Where do I start in the editing process: is there an order to edits - brightness before contrast before sharpening, for example. I also feel I need to get a better feel for what needs to be done to the picture by looking at it, as my current method involves a bit too much trial and error.

5. bking1000 macrumors 65816