Photo Editing

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by rubsal70, Jun 28, 2012.

1. rubsal70 macrumors newbie

I am a new photographer. I have a Canon Rebel T2i. I wanted to know what is a good program for editing photos. I also would like to know what is a good program to do layers and move objects in or out of pictures. I am new to that, but I have done some layering for video editing on motion. I was looking at aperture and pixelmator or photoshop elements? I would love to get some feedback.
    Thanks

2. nburwell macrumors 68040

nburwell

Since you're just starting out in photography, I would probably recommend you go with Photoshop Elements to start. I think you would get a little too overwhelmed if you went with Photoshop since it's such a vast program.

3. rubsal70 thread starter macrumors newbie

That is true... I already was going to wait on photoshop because of how expensive it is...That is why I need advice on whether to get "photoshop elements or Aperature/Pixelmator"?
    thanks

4. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

Designer Dale

I have both Aperture and PhotoShop cs3. Aperture is a digital darkroom, it lets you adjust color saturation, shadow detail and stuff like we used to do in our wet darkrooms. PhotoShop is a digital paint program and allows for the advanced modifications like removing objects and adding layers and effects. Elements has some of the features of PS at a lower price. A lot of us start with iPhoto and Elements.

Dale

5. rubsal70 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks Dale... That is something that I am looking for. So far elements is looking like the winner. Have you heard for pixelmator?
    Thanks

6. Sunn8760 macrumors newbie

I'm in the same situation. I'm leaning towards buying a Bamboo Capture tablet, to make editing easier, and you get a copy of Elements included. Just a thought...

7. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

mustang_dvs