Photographer buying 27-inch iMac - which model?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by pavinder, Dec 30, 2013.

1. pavinder macrumors member

I've read numerous threads on SSD vs Fusion etc, but still am not quite clear on which would be best for my needs.

I'm about to upgrade from a 2009 24-inch iMac to a 2013 27-inch.

I'm an artist/photographer and keep all my images (RAW and jpg, plus working PSDs) on external USB3 drives.

I often do retouching work using an Intuos graphics tablet and Photoshop CS5/6. The photographs may have many layers and I usually use multiple mask and filter layers which when rendering (on my 2009 iMac) occasionally feels slow. I also use Lightroom and Adobe Bridge for organizing/simple editing.

Based on my research, my understanding and basic questions are:

1. If I have the 1TB fusion drive, when I'm in Photoshop the image I'm working on will be loaded into the SSD part of the drive and all processing will be done there, making my rendering etc. much faster than if I had the standard ATA drive - is that correct?

2. If so, would there be any advantage at all (for Photoshop or Lightroom work) of having a SSD drive instead of the fusion drive?

3. I believe the base level 3.2GHz model with GT 755M will be more than enough for what I do, and (as I'm not working with 3D, video or gaming) I wouldn't gain any benefit from the GTX 775M on the higher-spec machine - is this correct?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

2. pavinder thread starter macrumors member

To explain further, I have received 3 different explanations from different Apple Store staff members at various stores. They lead to 3 very different conclusions, and obviously they can't all be correct.