Photographing Models - What Mac do I need?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by j088, Mar 8, 2009.

1. j088 macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm wondering what type of mac I need to buy to help me be more productive at work. I'm a semi-pro photographer who is starting to do a lot of work with nude models and I'm wondering which mac would be best for working with very high quality pictures (and video!). Since these will be nude photos (and videos!) I will be taking and working with, I don't to sacrifice any image (or video!) quality. Portability is also important since I will be shooting the nudes on the beaches and also in the studios. Please point me in the right direction as far as which model and specs I want to buy.

-J

2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

If you need portable, go with a MacBook Pro and max out the RAM. The extra RAM will help with the video editing pluse if you are using photoshop or some other professional photo editing software you will appreciate the extra speed that you get in general with a MacBook Pro.

3. tufaw macrumors member

If portability is important I don't really see how you have much of a choice, a MacBook Pro is probably what you're looking for. You will still need external storage though, and it probably won't be fast enough for serious video work (such as transcoding). Add a Mac Pro that you keep in the studio? :)

Perhaps if you posted some samples we could better help assess your needs. ;)

4. Tesselator macrumors 601

Tesselator

I do photography a bit. There's a good site called www.fredmiranda.com - come on over!

Here's some of my stuff:
    http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/700345
    http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/700716
    http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/703714
    http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/705144