Photography Noobie

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MCSV916, Jan 20, 2011.

1. MCSV916 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone. I'm new here. I've been snooping around for some time, but decided to do a post. So, I'm new to photography. I've taken pictures all my life but just recently purchased a digital SLR. I'm here to get some feedback and perhaps some guidance to what I want to achieve.

Camera: Canon 60D
    Lens: 18-135mm(kit), 24-70mm 2.8L, 50mm 1.4, Tokina 11-16mm 2.8
    Flash: 430EX II
    Tripod, bag

What I want to achieve: Wedding/event photographer, family/individual portraits.

So with the gear, is there anything that I should look into? Perhaps a zoom lens? Better lighting? What I am missing? I have gotten some awesome results with the lens and with some Lightroom help. I'm still new to that as well. What else can I benefit from? Any wedding photographers out there that want to chime in? I do like a lot of the photojournalist stuff and studio work.

Any feedback is welcome. Please help a noobie out! Thanks in advance.

2. tmagman macrumors 6502

one very fun lens to have and popular with wedding photographers is a Lensbaby. I have the composer model and it is just a lot of fun to use with the selective focus/distortion. They have several models but the composer is probably one of the easiest to use and very reasonable price wise. Check out Lensbabies' website for some great samples and such.

Otherwise it looks like you got a good lens selection there really opens a lot of doors. I am a huge fan of Canon's 50 1.4 that you have there and it will serve you well.

3. Policar macrumors 6502a