Photography tips/guide specific to the iPhone 4?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Xaximus, Aug 2, 2010.

1. Xaximus macrumors member

I wasn't sure whether to post this in the iPhone forum or Photography forum.

I'm a novice photographer; I typically prefer the auto settings of a decent consumer point-and-click. I'm buying an iPhone 4 to use as my primary still and video camera. As an example of something helpful that I've already learned, it's that if you pan too quickly while capturing video, you'll get a nasty wobble effect.

Can anyone provide some tips on using the iPhone 4 for stills or video, or does anyone know of a related guide?

2. pilotkid macrumors 6502a

Photographer Chase Jarvis has a app and a book specific to taking pictures with iPhones. The app is in the app store, its called "Best Camera". I think the book is more what your looking for, look it up on Amazon. The app is pretty much just a picture editing app.

3. livingonvideo13 macrumors regular

livingonvideo13

The wobble effect is caused by the rolling shutter (google rolling shutter wiki). This is normal for all smartphones and cheap cameras. Also you don't get any blur when panning with a rolling shutter so every frame is sharp which gives you kind of the strobe look when panning fast.

Also take a look at the lens of the iPhone4. See how small that sucker is? A cheap $200 camera is going to give you better pictures. You just can't get good optics with such a small lens.

Also you are going to get major contrast with the iPhone when a normal digital camera will give you a wider range of lighting. You are going to see more blowouts in your whites with the iPhone4.

the Camera on the iPhone is really nice for a smartphone and you can take some really good pictures if your lighting conditions are just right but it can not perform as well as a normal digital camera.

4. Xaximus thread starter macrumors member