Photography Website - Where do I start?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by epicwelshman, Jul 20, 2009.

1. epicwelshman macrumors 6502a

epicwelshman

Hey all,

I'm an occasional freelance photographer, and it's got to the point where I need a professional-looking website - photo galleries, bio, contact, etc.

I don't like flash, but I may not be able to help using it, and for better or worse it does display photos in a very pretty way.

I looked at Template Monster and the prices seem reasonable, and some of the templates are pretty snazzy, but how easy are they to customize? I'll need to edit text, logos, add in my own photos, etc. Is this doable (with very little web experience)?

I don't have the money to have a site custom built for me. Is a template the way to go? Can someone recommend another template site?

Thanks!

2. Beaverfish macrumors regular

3. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

snickelfritz

Photo galleries are ideally based on XML.
    This allows you to easily add photos, change captions and titles, etc... without having to recompile the application.
    I've looked at a few templetes and they are usually relatively complex to edit.

FlashLoaded has an excellent photo gallery template that is very easy to edit.

4. eleven2brett macrumors regular

You should check out Pixel Post: http://www.pixelpost.org/
    Its a photoblog software, think wordpress made for pictures. Lots of good free templates! When you get a little more adventurous you can probably design your own.

5. Ride9650 macrumors 6502

for a whole site, I think a template would probably be best or try iweb like Beaverfish suggested. Using blog software could work well too in terms of easy of use.

For displaying photos, I think zenphoto is pretty cool. It looks nice, easy to setup, relatively easy to customize.
    People can leave comments too!

6. epicwelshman thread starter macrumors 6502a

epicwelshman

Thanks for all the replies; I appreciate it.