Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Josh

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 4, 2004
State College, PA
Hey there,

I use Photoshop on Windows at work, and would like to be able to work on somethings at home as well.

The problem is, I'm a broke college student :p

I know the Windows world has JASC Paint Shop pro, which I used before I got my Mac.

But now that I have my iMac, it seems alternatives to PS are few and far between.

Are there any similar programs to Paintshop Pro for mac? (excluding GIMP - its always brought up as an alternative, but is not a very good program in my opinion).

What are my options? (besides becoming instantly wealthy lol).

jxyama

macrumors 68040
Apr 3, 2003
if you are a student, you can get photoshop elements for around $50... (that's cheaper than paint shop pro...)

squall1

macrumors newbie
May 26, 2004
Austin
Edit, sorry, didn't read your entire post. I'd give Gimp another try, I use Jaasc Paintshop on the PC at work and there is little it does that I can't do in Gimp.

Gimp is free, open source. Download X11, install. Download Gimp, install. Launch Gimp, X11 launches automatically I think, and you are good to go.

Josh

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 4, 2004
State College, PA
What are the big differences between regular Photoshop and Photoshop Elements?

Are all the tools there? Will I be able to use all the same plug-ins?

Thanks for the info!

Logik

macrumors 6502a
Apr 24, 2004
Josh said:

Thanks for the info!

uh... no idea if the plugins work.. but uh... typically the good plugins are pretty expensive aren't they? :-/ you're too broke to buy photoshop but want to buy expensive plugins.. neat...

Josh

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 4, 2004
State College, PA
Logik said: