Photoshop color settings: Adobe ACE engine or Apple CMM?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by PkennethV, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. PkennethV, Nov 14, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2011

    PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    (screenshot of the setting pane)

    From the Googling I've done, pretty much everything says to stick to Adobe ACE, but all that their "explanations" often state is something along the lines of "all the color gurus say to leave it at Adobe ACE."

    But since Aperture uses ColorSync (and I use Aperture for my RAW conversations/photo management/final image exporter), doesn't it make more sense for me to use "Apple CMM"?
     
  2. Photoshopper macrumors regular

    Photoshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    #2
    Don't bother with that setting, leave it at the default. With all of that stuff, if you don't know for what you should set it to, leave it at the default, it's there for a reason.

    Color Management is an incredibly complex and deep subject, learn about the important basics, like using/creating/converting color profiles for your images, display and printer, etc.. There will be more than enough to occupy and confuse you :confused: . Stuff like the conversion engine is unimportant minutia in comparison.
    I've found advice from the gurus to be worthwhile following if I have no knowledgable reason to suspect otherwise.

    Hope this helps! :)
     
  3. Photoshopper macrumors regular

    Photoshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    #3
    Didn't want to make you sound like a novice, I don't know your level of experience. I guess I never saw any reference to that setting, or that changing it was an important option.
    I guess you could try testing it on an image and see if it makes a visible difference. The danger is the possibility that you're embedding something that could present a problem later in going to press, e.g. Who knows? I've got my hands full just trying to work around the CS5 printing bugs...
     

Share This Page