Photoshop CS 3 on Mac - Seeing the brush / tool problems

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by hooly, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. hooly macrumors regular

    hooly

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #1
    I switched to Mac a long time ago and have been very happy. One thing I have never got sorted is viewing the brush/tool/whatever I am using.

    When I am not zoomed in close, my cursor disappears when I move it over the image. Whereas I would see a big circle in windows (representing the pixel size of the brush) for some reason I do not see it in Mac OS X unless I am zoomed in to 50% or more.

    I hope this makes sense and someone can help! Will post pics if needs be.

    Cheers, H.
     
  2. jwt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
    I think your brush size is just very small. Increase the brush size in the drop down menu or using the "]" key.
     
  3. hooly thread starter macrumors regular

    hooly

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #3
    Thanks. I thought of that too... but I even increased my brush size to 200 pixels, and when I activate it I can see it creating a huge blob, but it disappears when I stop activating it... So in other words I can only see the effects of the brush when I am using it :confused:
     
  4. Colin Hoernig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana
    #4
    Try changing these settings:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. vaguely-clear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #5
    Make sure that your caps lock is off when you use the brush tool. That got me for months before I realized what was going on.
     
  6. hooly thread starter macrumors regular

    hooly

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #6
    Thanks all for your input.

    I checked my cursor preferences and they are as posted by Colin, with full size brush selected.

    I still do not see the large circle I want describing my brush. Instead I have cross-hair target in the centre and no way of visualising the actual brush size until I spray.

    I the attached example the brush size was set to 200 pixels, but my only 'preview' was a small bracketed cross hair less than half this size (sorry the cross hair disappeared when I took the screen shot)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. vaguely-clear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #7
    That sounds exactly like what happens when my caps lock is on as mentioned before. Then again, I have CS2. I'll try CS3 at work on Monday if you still don't have this resolved by then.

    I wonder what else it could be...?
     
  8. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

    Phrasikleia

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Over there------->
    #8
    Yes, it has to be the caps lock toggle for painting with a cross hair. This feature is not Mac-specific; it works the same way in Windows. Just make sure that caps lock is off if you want a cursor that indicates brush size.
     
  9. hooly thread starter macrumors regular

    hooly

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #9
    My caps lock is definitely not on. OTHERWISE MY TYPING WOULD LOOK LIKE THIS :)

    Any other ideas?
     
  10. jwt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #10
    Maybe you have a demon in your box. Have you considered an exorcism?;)
     
  11. waj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #11
    I had the same problem when I first moved to a Mac approx 2 years ago, I made some enquiries and was told that it was a Adobe Mac version bug that appeared on the beta/trial versions that were out and about at the time and it would be fixed on the shrink wrap official release version. I made the investment and now have no problems with seeing the size of the the clone tool/brush size etc.
     
  12. hooly thread starter macrumors regular

    hooly

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #12
    Bingo! Thanks man that makes sense. I have a trial version with an 'extension' ;)
     

Share This Page