Photoshop CS3 background

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by foulmouthedleon, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. foulmouthedleon macrumors regular

    foulmouthedleon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    #1
    I realize this sounds like a Photoshop n00b question, but belive it or not I've been using it for a decade now (just not on a Mac). Simple question and it should be a simple answer...

    On a PC when working in Photoshop there's a grey background that, when you click it, won't take you out of the program. I have found when using CS3 on a Mac that this isn't there. It's merely the desktop background and if you mistakenly click outside the picture or toolbar, you get taken out of the program. Is there a way around this?

    It's not a huge deal, more of an annoyance, but figured I'd see if A) Anyone knows what I'm talking about and B) If its fixable, how?

    Thanks in advance for any help you can give...
     
  2. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #2
    Click on the bottom icon of the tools pallet (Change screen mode), or keyboard shortcut (F).

    If you want to know, it's made this way for multitasking. :)
     
  3. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #3
    Go to View > Screen Mode (or push F) and try all the different modes. I think the mode you're looking for is either Maximized Screen Mode or Full Screen Mode With Menu Bar.
     
  4. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #4
    When I first switched this was very different for me to get used to also. What I find myself doing is going between the different background types and using the cmd+tab to go between say illustrator and photoshop or dreamweaver etc.... works pretty well for me anyway.
     
  5. aldog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #5
    It is a little frustrating at first to use, accidently switching out of photoshop when you get close to the edge (especially if you're doing long strokes with a tablet). But all together I think it's better to have the background not be there, so when i want to switch it's simple and quick.
     
  6. PHX-Locksmith macrumors newbie

    PHX-Locksmith

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    #6
    Once you have Photoshop loaded with an open document, hit the "F" key. Pressing "F" is the Photoshop quick key to change the document view preferences. Give it a try!:D
     
  7. Andrip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #7
    Sorry for reviving an old thread, but I'm having the same problem except that I switched from OS X to Windows and the gray background is really annoying for me. Is there no way to remove it? I already tried the screen mode button.
     
  8. Melrose macrumors 604

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #8
    I had some irritation when I switched from to Mac also - I find myself now just using the default mode and dragging the project window biggerto give me some space. All the screen modes center the project, something I don't like since all my toolbars are on the right.
     
  9. Jaredistheman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #9
    Even though everyone seems to have their on version of what works, what worked for me was to go to view>application frame.

    Hope that helped!
     
  10. kobaski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #10
    Although an old thread, the same annoyance is bugging me in CS5. The way I fixed it is installing a program called isolator -> http://willmore.eu/software/isolator/ this "isolates" the current program by applying a black background(default) over everything else. But different colors and modes (blur) can be selected as well. This allows you to keep multiple windows (un-maximized) next to each other and eliminate distraction. There is also no risk of clicking next to an image and jumping out of PS.
    You can even bind the isolator to a hot key for quick on and off toggle or dump it in menubar as a quick button. All in all working like a charm for me!!
     
  11. citizenzen Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #11

    Different strokes...


    My favorite mode is gray background/centered image.

    I prefer using the Polygonal Lasso tool, and it often needs to go beyond the image's edge to make the selection I want.

    That don't work in the other mode.​


    ...for different folks.
     

Share This Page