Photoshop CS4 Cursor Bug - Fix??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by fordsurf, Nov 25, 2008.

  1. fordsurf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Hello, I'm running photoshop CS4 on an intel 2.4Ghz, 4GB RAM iMac with Leopard. Does anyone know if there is a fix for this blasted cursor bug? The bug I'm referring to is brush size is not congruent with actual brush. Ugh, this is sooo frustrating.

    Any help would be awwwwesome

    Mike
     
  2. bdaul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #2
    did you find an answer!!!?

    I am in the same state-of-mind...frustrated!

    Thanks, --bill
     
  3. BlogueTechno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #3
    Cursor Bug in Photoshop

    :mad:
    Hi,

    I have a cursor bug in Photoshop CS4.

    It shows me the Form for the Brush - but when I apply the brush - the actual paint does not match the brush - it is smaller. It has other bugs as well. The cursor is totally bugged up.
    This is annoying.

    I've tried every combimation in PREFERENCES - CURSOR - and nothing works.

    If you have any advice - please reply or write to me directly at diane@bloguetechno.net
    Thanks.
    Diane Bourque
     
  4. BlogueTechno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #4
    Cursor Bug in Photoshop CS4

    Hello again,

    After some extensive research on the Web, and consulting with the MAC Genius Bar here in Montreal, it seems that the only solution for me would be to purchase a new computer. Let me explain.

    My iMAC (2 years old) uses the NVidia GeForce 7300 video card. Photoshop CS4 does not recognize this card.

    If you go here - you will see that this card is not supported in Photoshop CS4:
    http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=kb405711

    I cannot upgrade or change my video card on my iMAC.

    So... if anyone out there has a solution ... please help. I'm back to Photoshop CS3 which recognizes my video card.

    You can also read this:
    http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=kb404898
     
  5. jsauger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    #5
    RE: Photoshop CS4 Cursor Bug

    When the bugs occur with the cursor are you in full screen mode? Also, is your video card an NVIDIA by chance?

    I have been seeing a lot of posts with this complaint and so far NVIDIA chips seem to be a common problem. This could just be coincidence.

    Also, if you have this bug happen in full screen, like the cursor bug I experience, you can toggle full screen mode to rid yourself of the bug—for a little bit.
     
  6. CACNEd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #6
    Cursor bug

    At least I know it is not just me! I have the problem both on my Macbook Pro and my Mac pro quad core 3.1
    Sadly the PC users of Photoshop who work alongside are delighted
    Peter
     
  7. maxzen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #7
    running parallels on macbook pro

    Running Photoshop CS3 on a virtual OS (XP) on a new MacBook Pro with snow leopard.

    My cursor, specifically when using the Marquee Tool, bounces to the top/left side of the monitor screen when ever it touches the scrollbar of the active canvas!

    If there is no active canvas, or if the Move Tool is selected, no problem! I'd love to hear confirmation of this bug's existence, and if there is a fix other than the workaround I've already figured out.

    Jon Holmquist
    Super Cheap Signs
     
  8. Dusty B macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #8
    I've got the cursor problem now too. I have been using Photoshop in CS4 without problems for a couple months. The last 3 days the cursor has been totally unreliable. It started with it randomly changing from standard to precise regardless of the settings in preferences. Seems like it was an issue with caps lock. Now it does not match with the action. In other words, the actual brush does not match with the cursor whether in precise or standard. This makes it impossible to use. I spent a huge chunk of money on a Mac Book Pro and CS4 hoping to get away from problems as I have been a PC user my whole life. Seems all computers suck.

    Any fixes for this problem other than going back to a PC? :mad:
     
  9. bluecifer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #9
    Is this the problem you're all seeing....

    in full screen it would seem that the registration of the various cursors is off compared to that of the actual tool controls? Like When I resize something and go to the corner of the object expecting the resize arrows but I get the rotation arrows instead unless I move my mouse up and in a few pixels?

    If so - I run into it when I open a new file and am also in full screen mode (not always but often - especially if I have one or two files already open). As annoying as it is it's easily 'fixed' by cycling through the full screen modes (F, F, F) as it would seem that the new application backing mode is messing up somehow and actually forcing the application background down 10-20 pixels as seen in the JPG I have attached (the white between the ruler and the grey backing should not be there). You then end up with an odd situation in which the image is still registered to the original full screen background, but the tools are attached to this new positioning of it.

    [​IMG]

    Weird - I hope they fix it but really just cycling through the F's has done it for me. hope this helps.

    MacBookPro 2.33 GHz
    4 GB RAM
    Mac OSX 10.5.8
    ATI RadeonX1600
     
  10. pva26oct macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #10
    Cursor fix

    Hi, I've recently had some problems using Photoshop CS4. Basically the active point is about 50px below the cursor, this happens when using any tool. Not sure if it only happens when in full screen mode.

    Anyway, I managed to figure out a temporary fix but would like to know if anyone knows of a permanent fix?

    Temporary fix:
    Quit Photoshop, then go to
    Library > Preferences > com.adobe.photoshop.plist
    and delete this file. When you restart Photoshop, it should be sorted out. But this doesn't last...
     

Share This Page