Photoshop CS5.1 problem with OSX Lion

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hakonvar, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. hakonvar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    Hi. I just got my new 27" quad-core iMac last week and one of the reasons for buying the new mac was to be able to work with photoshop as my early 2009 macbook didn't have the specs for this. So I downloaded photoshop CS5.1 extended from adobe.com as a trial version, but when I launched bridge there popped up a window saying "The operation could not be completed". Frustrated and irritated after 5 hours of un-installing and re-installing I called adobe support, told them about the situation and they replied with the question: "Does your new mac run OSX Lion?". I said yes, and the message was clear; OSX Lion was the sinner. They also told me that adobe was working on this problem to release a new update as soon as possible but they didn't know for sure when.

    So my question is, does anybody have the same types of problems or does someone know when the new update will be released? The alternative is to go back to snow leopard, something I won't be really happy to do.

    In advance, thank you!
     
  2. And1ss macrumors 6502a

    And1ss

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #2
    I'm assuming the update will have to come from Adobe - did you try asking them?

    On another note, cs5.1 works great on SL =) Come back! haha jk
     
  3. hakonvar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    off course the update will come from adobe, it's their product. as I wrote in the thread, I have already called them, but they don't know when the update will be released. And, yeah, I'm actually considering going back to SL if adobe doesn't get their heads out of their asses pretty soon.
     
  4. thunderbolt101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #4
    Early adopters...

    need to be patient,and use a little perspective about who is to blame when a new os doesn't work with existing software. To say "adobe" needs to pull it's head out of it's ass is childish. Put your teething ring on the table and go back to SL...I have seen to many problems with Lion "not ready for prime time" that I am reverting, and grateful I have a homebuilt PC that runs rings around my mbp 2011...
     
  5. TerryReis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #5
    Brand new iMac new Creative Suite no problem.

    I have a brand new iMac came with Lion pre-installed.
    Installed Adobe CS5.5 Design Premium including Photoshop and Bridge.
    Everything works fine absolutely no problems or bugs.

    I did make sure flash and java were bang up to date before doing the install.

    Not sure if this helped.

    Cheers,

    Terry
     

Share This Page