Photoshop CS6 & ATI 7950 3GB - shows only 2048 MB VRAM in CS6 (10.8.3)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jaberwocky, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. jaberwocky, Apr 6, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2013

    jaberwocky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    Hi there,
    my 7950/3GB is full recognized within 10.8.3, Apple systemprofiler shows them as "AMD Radeon HD 7950 Series" with 3072 MB VRAM.

    But build-in CS6 systeminformation tells me only 2048 MB VRAM / 2047 MB Open-GL RAM ?

    Can you check within CS6 if it's the same for you? BTW, it's the latest CS6 patchlevel (Adobe Photoshop Version: 13.0 (13.0 20120315.r.428 2012/03/15:21:00:00) x64)

    Best regards, jaberwocky
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    I too see the same 2Gb reported in Photoshop CS6 with my (now EFI flashed) 7950 3Gb.

     
  3. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #3
    did you file a report with Adobe? They're awesome about addressing needs and feature requests. Would suspect since there was no "official" card supported at release time that probably has a lot to do with it. Now that manufacturers are releasing officially supported options, it's probably only an update away from having more cards added to their supported list.

    Do have to wonder though - is this related to why the GTX 680 Mac version is only 2GB?
     
  4. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #4
    I have not submitted a report yet but will have a look at my options to do so.
     
  5. GP-SE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
  6. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
  7. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #7
    Damn - they are transitioning to Revel so I can't create a Photoshop.com account at the moment. No bug report from me I am afraid.
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    Might be 32/64 bit thing.

    I seem to recall that 2GB is max that 32 bits can address.

    I have also noted that when I use GTX Titan in OSX, 6 GB shows up in System Profiler but only 4GB shows up in GLViewer or CUDA.
     
  9. jaberwocky thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #9
    Same for me, sorry.
     
  10. GP-SE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #10
    that's what I'm thinking, it's not a photoshop issue per-say, since I get the 2gb max in Steam also. Perhaps a driver bug?
     
  11. jaberwocky, Apr 8, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013

    jaberwocky thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    Hmm, it seems to be application/programming related. Why:

    I make a short test with a older version of GLView (OpenGL Extension Viewer, 3.32 (42)), from 2011. Under "Extension Tab" it detects 2047 MB memory for GL, using version 2.1 ATI-1.6.37 of GL Render Engine.

    Same test with the actual version 4.0.8 (7) of GLViewer, using the same Render Engine version, it now detects 3072 MB.

    BUT: Both version detects on tab "Pixel Versions" a total Video/Texture Memory of 2147483647 :confused:

    Please see below for screenshots:



    Bye
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #12
    It is possible that some developers used old SDKs (Software Development Kits), which contain old 32-Bit data type definitions. Those applications need an update.
     
  13. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    Same here:

    Photoshop CS 6 and Steam: 2 GB

    Apple System Profiler and OpenGL Extensions Viewer (4.0.8): 3 GB

    Real test: X-Plane 10 uses easily more than 2 GB VRAM, in my test even 2.4 GB without penalty: > 2.3 GB can actually be used.:cool:

    See screenshots (for X-Plane see "Total Size of all loaded textures..." @ the bottom)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page