Photoshop CS6 constant crashes on 10.10

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by ppdix, Jul 29, 2014.

  1. ppdix macrumors 6502a

    ppdix

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #1
    I am experiencing slow performance and multiple crashes on Photoshop CS6 Extended.
    First, tools become unresponsive and then you feel it's going to crash, and it does. 15 crashes so far today.
    Also, using 3rd party plug-ins causes crashes. Working on the plug-in works fine, but as soon as you hit OK to go apply the filter... Crash!
    Also, Save As, takes over 5 to 10 seconds to show up sometimes. You think PS is frozen but then the dialog opens up...
    Sometimes, right after saving, the tools become unresponsive so a Force Quit is needed...
    :mad:
     
  2. JohnGrey macrumors 6502

    JohnGrey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati Metro
    #2
    That's very strange. I can only assume that there's some sort of method or kernel extension in it that's no longer supported. I've installed Adobe CC and Photoshop runs as well as it did in Mavericks.
     
  3. Mac4Now macrumors newbie

    Mac4Now

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Location:
    Northumberland
    #3
    Yeah I have similar problems also on Yosemite! with all CS6 applications. Crashes and slow to import images, it's driving me nuts. Are Apple going to fix this or is it a way of getting everyone over to the cloud and CC
     
  4. suburbia macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #4
    CS6 should still be fine with Yosemite. Perhaps try to update Java.

    It's El Capitan that's causing all the grief as Adobe will no longer support CS6 and CS6 is incompatible with El Capitan. Informative read on the Adobe forum about this. Not Apple's fault nor repsonsibility, purely Adobe's: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1967270?start=40&tstart=0
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    Adobe has no plans to update CS6 any further. You should, at a minimum, ensure that you've installed all the latest patches for the Adobe apps you're trying to run.
     

Share This Page