Photoshop CS6: screen flashing/blinking black

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Miqs, Jul 16, 2016.

  1. Miqs macrumors member

    Miqs

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #1
    Using Photoshop CS6 on my new retina iMac OSX (El Capitan) I am getting a flashing and blinking black screen when using clone brushes. I have read that I am not the only one who has this but there does not seem to be an answer. Is it a bug? Can anyone help?
     
  2. pwhitehead macrumors 6502

    pwhitehead

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    new jersey
    #2
    You need to downgrade your OS X or drink the cool aid and get a CC subscription. You're having software compatibility issues.
     
  3. filmbufs macrumors regular

    filmbufs

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #3
    I use PS CS6 on my iMac using El Capitan and experience only a couple of minor issues. When I first open up CS6, my clone brush and paint brush doesn't appear to work properly if I have the Pressure Opacity toggled on. It takes a few a few minutes, as if it is buffering and then it works perfectly. Without the pressure opacity toggled on, it works immediately.
     
  4. Miqs thread starter macrumors member

    Miqs

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #4
    Thanks and an interesting point. I have never looked at the pressure Opacity toggle and not sure what the result will be so I have now clicked it assuming that means it is ON so will see what happens. I admit I don't fully understand how the brush preset picker controls opacity when turned off as the info pop up indicates.

    Elsewhere I learn that it is indeed a compatibility issue with CS6 as Adobe will not update.
     
  5. Cranehandler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
  6. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #6
    So, who is the bigger jerk here - Apple or Adobe?
     
  7. besler3035 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #7
    Seeing that CS6 was released in 2012...I'm going to say neither of them are jerks. Drink the kewl aid like the first response says and upgrade to a CC membership. Worth it with all the new features since CS6.
     
  8. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #8
    CS6 PS has plenty of usable features, great with 3rd party plug ins that make CC not all that great a deal but more like a typical upgrade. I'll still ask who is the bigger jerk given that there are apps from 2012 (the date you gave) that work with El Capitan and OS Sierra. Chances are the "fix" required would be an easy one on Adobe's side.
     
  9. besler3035 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #9
    If anyone should fix it, it's Adobe. I know people still use CS6, but you can't be surprised when four year old software has some compatibility issues.
     
  10. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #10
    I'll agree I shouldn't be surprised. I shouldn't really be surprised by anything Apple or Microsoft does. What I might be is pissed off since chances are these are minor issues that can be fixed. Way way back in the early days of "Windows" and such, if something was expected in a certain place you could right some scripts and routines and more to 'redirect' etc. Apple certainly can do this and so could Adobe. Adobe wants CS6 gone and Apple doesn't give a crap about any advanced software including some of its own products or beyond EOL product lines (Aperture cough cough).
     
  11. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #11
    Not sure why you think that such updates would be non-trivial? Do you have significant experience in blended C and Lua app development? Many of the components in CS6 were written in Carbon, which is long depreciated and targeted at OS 8 and 9. Significant rewrites have happened across the Adobe line to support newer features and high-resolution screens. Adobe CS6 still works just fine on a machine and OS contemporary to its development. Expecting software that had a yearly refresh and was EOL'd in 2013 to still work flawlessly today is asking a bit much.
     
  12. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #12
    You mean like having Rosetta to use with older software or perhaps even Window's take on 32 bit apps running on 64 bit Windows etc. It is nice you have a leg up on most about the practicals with respect to both programming and degree of challenge with maintaining backwards compatibility of operating system but yes, I DO believe it is acceptable to think that Apple could have handled apps like CS6 PS (and others) with limited resources. I don't claim to be a "programmer" by profession but I have my share years ago with working with porting software and device drivers as well as work arounds (all the way back to running Pharlap Extender for DOS, REXX and Visual REXX with executable written in C for Database controls and so on. As I said, I am not a programmer but understand some basics here and will just simply say that Apple could if they wanted to but chose not to and Adobe pushes us forward into CC land.
     
  13. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #13
    It is a complicated problem. Adobe relied on Carbon for far longer than they were supposed to. Apple used carbon as a bridge to newer systems but it had a clear end-date. Adobe lollygagged because they use a shared codebase across the mac and PC versions for the core functionality of the apps and knew that the forthcoming changes to make Adobe products work on modern macs would be large-scale and expensive. So, Apple did make the attempt for backwards compatibility at the time, but that time eventually ran out. Adobe did major rewrites to support Macs (which for a while they were considering not to do as the mac market is not as lucrative than the PC market). In the end everyone wins and no one can be called out for being overly negligent -- tho I will agree that Adobe used the depreciated libraries too long.
     
  14. sneak3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #14
    Gotta bump this. This is really getting insane. I have just purchased a mid 2015 macbook pro 15" with integrated only and this flickering happens FROM CS6 TO CC 2017.

    Back to the question of whos being the jerk, I'd say both are being completely pathetic.

    Every macbook pro with Iris only has this flickering with Photoshop. One of the most popular computers with the most popular image editing software and they can't fix such an obvious issue.

    When it happened to the macbook air, Adobe simply had to contact Apple and Apple ended up releasing a fix. Now it's been 3 years since the first reports and NOTHING.

    Sad.
     
  15. spacedcadet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
  16. sneak3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

Share This Page