Photoshop layer style noise filter disapearing

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by andyjamesnelson, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. andyjamesnelson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #1
    Hey,

    I'm having a problem with the layer styles noise when I flatten or export an image.

    I like to use inner shadows with noise to simulate contours and texture. This all works fine when I'm working on a PSD document. Still whenever I flatten an image or save it as a jpg all the noise from the layer style filter is lost and I'm left with a smooth gradient. You can see an example of what I mean in the attachments I included.

    Does anyone know how I can retain the noise effect I like? Surely it must be possible or why would there be an a way of adding it in the 1st place?

    Any help would be great.

    Andy
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #2
    When

    I have an answer you are not going to like.

    Whenever Layer Styles are giving me a hard time I make an empty layer above or below the one that you like the look of, then select the layers and merge them, rasterizing the style.
     
  3. andyjamesnelson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #3
    Hey,

    Yes I do the same but when I do this the noise I've added disappears and becomes smooth. See the attachments for an example.

    Ho do I retain the noise I like so much ? :(
     
  4. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #4
    What about breaking out the layer styles into separate layers (hold ctrl and click fx in the layers palette for the layer with styles) and then exporting? I don't know if this will help or not.
     
  5. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #5
    Ok then

    Ok. When that trick wont work for me, then I resort to one better.

    Make all layers other than the layer in question invisible, then do layers-merge visible. This has solved ANY layer style issue I have encountered. It never fails.
     
  6. andyjamesnelson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #6
    Hey,

    Tried both of the suggestions and I still have the same problem.

    I totally don't get it. Why is there a noise function if Photoshop is not capable of actually exporting the results?

    Adding noise from the normal filters works but with this you cannot add it just to a gradient for example.

    Layer styles are really useful but why are they so difficult to retain on export?

    Andy
     
  7. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
  8. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #8
    Now

    Now, I am assuming you add the noise through the inner glow controls...

    I tried it and it works just fine even saving it as a jpg, so maybe something in your app is run amok? :confused:
     
  9. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #9
    If you have one layer with a gradient applied and another with the noise applied, try making the gradient layer a smart object before you merge them down. It sounds like (if I'm understanding what you're saying) the gradient effect is covering up the inner shadow/noise effect.
     
  10. andyjamesnelson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #10
    Hey,

    Can I get you guys to try this and see if you have the same experience please.

    I made a new document 2000x2000px Res 350 transparent.

    I then drew a 1000x1000 pixel square and filled it with a light yellow color.

    Then in Blending Options / Inner Shadow

    I then put in the following

    Choke 30

    Size 150%

    Noise 50%

    You should now have a light yellow square with a very noisy Inner Shadow.

    Not make a new layer and merge them together.

    For me what happens is the noise is significantly reduced but not altogether lost.

    Why does it change at all?

    Andy
     

    Attached Files:

  11. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #11
    To my understanding

    As far as I know, It looses its bunch and "darkness" because you are rasterizing the image when you merge the two layers? If it is so crucial, maybe after you merge the layers, just adjust the contrast on the newly flattened layer until it suits your need.
     
  12. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #12
    While it appears to change when I'm looking at it from 33% or 50%, when I am at 100% and merge the layers, there is no apparent change.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. andyjamesnelson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #13
    Hey,

    Ok so yes at 100% there seems to be no change for me as well.

    So the problem isn't so much the rastering of the filter but the visible display of the filters effect at different zoom levels?
     

Share This Page