Photoshop & MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Unica, Sep 5, 2007.

1. Unica macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I am a retouching artist, and am getting myself a MBP. Being photoshop that I use 99.9% of the time, and sometimes a bit of Illustrator and Dreamweaver. I would like to know your feedback on the best combination of the system resources to optimize my system for photoshop.

My use is photoshohp, photoshop, photoshop.. :)

I will be using CS2 or CS3.... havn't decided yet. But since CS3 is native to MBPs... maybe...

anyways, heres the specs:
    1. 15"
    2. Intel Core 2 Duo
    3. 2.16 Ghz processor
    4. 2 Gb Memory
    5. 128 Mb ATI graphics
    6. 120 Gb Hard Disk
    7. 4 Mb L2 Cche per processor
    8. 667 Mhz Bus speed

I also have a Western Digital External HD, 320GB (usb connected).

so suggestions on setting up scratchdisks, memory and image cache etc to optimise the above combination of elements.

Thanx :)

2. iBlue macrumors Core

iBlue

I think you'll need more RAM than that. (4 Gb would suffice, I'm sure) It's surprising how much the CS apps (primarily photoshop) hog up.

3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

1. Use CS3. CS2 through Rosetta is just far too cumbersome and slow for someone who uses Photoshop day in, day out. If it's your day job, then don't even consider CS2, go out and buy CS3.

2. RAM. iBlue is right, 2gb is a good starting point but you'll feel you need more within a couple of months, if not immediately.

3. Scratch disk. If your external drive was a firewire drive I would say use your external as a scratch disk. I use a MBP at home for print design and a dual G5 at work. The biggest and most obvious bottleneck in the MBP appears to be disk access and I guess that's due to its rotational speed. As soon as I can get a 7200rpm 250gb or larger drive for this machine, I probably will.

4. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

Stampyhead