Photoshop Newbie -- Where to Begin?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DCAbrams, Jan 22, 2009.

1. DCAbrams macrumors newbie

I have zero background in Photoshop; never used it, never took a class, anything. But it's something I think would serve me well to, at the very least, have a base knowledge of how it works and be able to do its basic functions.

Can anyone direct me to some online or other kind of resource for someone just starting out in Photoshop? Most of the online tutorials I have found assume you already know the program fairly well.

I know there are manuals and other resources you can buy, but I'd like to keep it as cheap as possible, seeing as it's just a hobby at this point.

Thanks!

2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

The best thing to do at first is to just open an image and mess around with everything, trying to get a feel for how it works and what the different tools do.

You don't have to save it, so you can do anything you want to the image.

Once you discover the basics, you should be able to figure out what specific tutorials you need.

3. phadam macrumors regular

have you tried tutorialparadise.com ??? there may be some useful info over there. maybe try a search on 'photoshop layers' which should bring up some good basics as well

4. MrJingles macrumors member

I have to agree for quality training. I've been doing design for 8 years now and I still keep a subscription to brush up on skills and updates to software.

Also sites like: computerarts.co.uk, layersmagazine.com, psdtuts.com or just google 'photoshop tutorials' for more free sites but again if you want certified instructor led classes lynda.com is a great start.

5. DCAbrams thread starter macrumors newbie

Lynda.com seems to have well-organized, step-by-step approach to learning the basics (even though it is subscription based...)

To anyone who has used Lynda.com: do you think it would be worth the price of a one month subscription?