Photoshop "only" using 100% of my CPU

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by pianodude123, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. pianodude123 macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #1
    I bought a 4 core i7. Why is photoshop CS6 not utilizing the full power of my new machine?
     
  2. driftless macrumors demi-god

    driftless

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago-area
    #2
    There is a disconnect between your title and the subject of you post. Which is it?
     
  3. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #3
    shouldn't it be using 400% if it was utilizing the whole thing?
     
  4. driftless macrumors demi-god

    driftless

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago-area
    #4
    Ummm, no. There maybe 4 cores but there is only 100% capacity for the cpu.

    And your website, http://www.stenchinformer.com/, is offensive.
     
  5. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #5
    Offensive to the victims of stench, yes. :p
     
  6. driftless macrumors demi-god

    driftless

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago-area
  7. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #7
    I have seen things take up >100% of the CPU in Activity Monitor. I am talking about when you look at the processes in activity monitor, not just theoretically.

    And thank you for the feedback on the website. What do you think I should do to make it less offensive?
     
  8. OreoCookie macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Location:
    Sendai, Japan
    #8
    CPU utilization is usually measured per virtual core. Your machine probably only has 2 physical cores, but thanks to Hyperthreading, the OS sees four cores. But since these four virtual cores share the resources of two virtual cores, it is hard to utilize them at 100 % each.

    In any case, software needs to be able to parallelize workloads in order to really take advantage of more than 1 core. There are certain workloads which you can parallelize easily (e. g. render images or apply certain types of filters) while for others, you can't (e. g. when you need to wait for the result of a computation to start a new one). Then there are problems which may be parallelizable, but they are not easily parallelizable. Most parts of Photoshop are not programmed to take advantage of several cores, so what happens is that Photoshop will utilize one core to the max (100 %) and the others are twiddling their thumbs.

    As you always have background processes running, even normal users benefit from dual core CPUs which are now standard.
     
  9. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #9
    This.

    If you fire up After Effects you'll see it use all cores.
     
  10. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #10
    This is helpful, thanks!
     

Share This Page