Photoshop plug-in for HP Printer/Scanner?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by IgnatiusTheKing, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #1
    I just bought an HP Photosmart 4480 All in One and wanted to know if anyone knows of a plug-in I can grab for Photoshop. The one the install disc added to PS just opens another program.
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    What do you mean? Presumably, the plug-in is a TWAIN plug-in, which should just work in all TWAIN-compatible applications after you install the software. The most recent version of the software (v. 9.7.1) for the HP Photosmart 4480 is available for download on HP's website. Within Photoshop, select File > Import... to bring up a list of image sources including your HP.
     
  3. IgnatiusTheKing thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #3
    My old scanner opened up a window within Photoshop where I could set the scan settings, then run the scan. The TWAIN plug-in that installed with the new scanner opens up a separate program when I go to File > Import. I was hoping there was a way to avoid opening the HP Scan Utility (or whatever it's called) when I wanted to scan an image.
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    You should kiss the developers of the TWAIN plug-in for your old scanner full on the lips. They did it the way the way that it should be done. Unfortunately, most TWAIN plug-ins look somewhat like HP's. They have been that way for more than a decade.

    In the words of a great American President: "I feel your pain." My Canon scanner also sports a god-awful TWAIN panel for TWAIN-compatible apps--with one marvelous exception. The plug-in for Image Capture looks so much nicer and is ever so much faster. Therefore, I use Image Capture for most of my scanning. I then open my scanned images in my favorite graphics editor. Try Image Capture. You might like it.
     
  5. IgnatiusTheKing thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #5
    How unfortunate. Well, I'll give Image Capture a try.
     
  6. calebeaton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #6
    photoshop plugin for twain scanner

    Agreed. Manufacturer provided drivers suck. Found this thread because I wanted the slick photoshop plugin approach with my new hp all-in-one.

    I'm gonna give SilverFast www.silverfast.com which was a godsend to use with my ancient ScanMaker E6.
     

Share This Page