Photoshop won't load-possible monolingual screw up aargh please help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by angryhive, Jun 1, 2008.

  1. angryhive macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    #1
    If someone could help me out here (again, today)...

    I seem to have rendered my friend's copy of photoshop unusable. The icon in the dock bounces up and down but won't load. I just used monolingual, saw somewhere that might be a problem holy crap please help me!!!!

    Also none of CS3 works. Waaah!
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    What version of Photoshop? If it's pre-CS3 then it's not Universal. If you told Monolingual to strip the non-native architectures (PPC in this case) then no non-Universal (or Intel-only) apps will run. The only way to solve this is to re-install OSX and learn to be more careful in future.
     
  3. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #3
    I had this same problem after running monolingual. But after a restart, everything is working fine. Did you restart?
     
  4. angryhive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    #4
    Reinstall? After removing language packs? no no no no!

    I have no idea what universal means. yes it is cs3. Any other solutions?

    yes i did restart too.
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Monolingual can do more than remove language packs. It can remove the code required to run old software written before there were Intel Macs. As you are talking about CS3 that doesn't matter as it is written for both old PPC and new Intel Macs (this is what Universal means). Try rebooting.
     
  6. angryhive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    #6
    ah crap. Well, i think other things like the installer are screwed too. What's onyx, by the way-some program to solve all my woes? (he says hopefully)

    So you say that monolingual should not effect CS3 if i remove language files? Thats even worse news.

    I've rebooted several times, i just noticed it though.

    Thanks for helping by the way.
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    No. It's a utility that is basically pointless: it just runs maintenance scripts the system runs anyway: it can't "heal" damage.
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    The real answer is to get your original CS3 disks and reinstall.
     
  9. angryhive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
  10. skybolt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, USA
    #10
    You don't have to do a complete reinstall. You can Archive and Install and tell it not to load the language packs. Then you will have your architecture back but not the languages.
     

Share This Page