php error reporting & MAMP

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Christina99, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. Christina99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #1
    I recently installed MAMP Pro but now I have a problem which I can't solve.
    I use Dreamweaver CS3 together with MAMP Pro, and it works fine, when my scripts don't contain any mistakes.
    Then I can use the Live data view to see the result.
    When there is a mistake in the script I don't get an error display, but only this question to change the location of the testing server.(see image)
    I know the location of the testing server is correct because the scripts work when they don't contain any mistakes.
    In php.ini the error_reporting=E_ALL
    and display_errors=on

    So I'm out of options.
    Any hints?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DaReal_Dionysus macrumors regular

    DaReal_Dionysus

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #2
    this error is generated when the testing is setup wrong. Check your setup of the test server.
     
  3. Christina99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #3
    No the testing server is set up right.
    I can use Live data view when the scripts are working.
    It must be something else.
     
  4. DaReal_Dionysus macrumors regular

    DaReal_Dionysus

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #4
    post your setup i will take a look. I have been using mamp for years and am normally pretty good at know whats going on.
     
  5. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #5
    Just making an observation the filename it had trouble finding was (guessing) a TEMPORARY file generated by Dreamweaver during browser preview. I based this on the long filename with he odd random characters. If so, I suggest you disable that option, go to the preferences area, preview by browser, uncheck "Preview using temporary file" for all browsers configured for preview.

    Besides that, make sure in your test site, the server model is PHP/MySQL since that was also mentioned here.

    This is all done in DW.

    -jim
     
  6. Christina99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #6
    Hi,
    I checked these things and all was ok, so this is not the solution...

    Here are some of my settings in DW and mamp pro

    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  7. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #7
    Neonfluxx will assist you from here. That was my best shot at it, I don't use MAMP.

    -jim
     
  8. Christina99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #8
    It's ok, I have found the problem.
    I changed the user to www/mysql in the MAMP settings and it worked again.
    Where the logic is in that is still a big question for me.
    So I got this to work on my macbook, when I did everthing exactly the same on my imac then it still doesn't work!
    It gives me a 404 (file not found) on one site, while other sites work fine.
    I think it's a bug in dreamweaver, which fails in interacting with the local server or something like that.
    Thanks for the help anyway
    cheers
     
  9. DaReal_Dionysus macrumors regular

    DaReal_Dionysus

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #9
    Okay just a few things:

    first: remote info should be set to the htdocs folder /the foldername

    example: Macintosh HD:Applications:MAMP:htdocs:foldername:

    In the testing server you have it set like this: http://localhost which is incorrect

    it should be like this: http://localhost:8888/foldername/

    for further assistance please view the Video Training Module I did for another website. It will walk you through the complete setup and how to set your testing server properly. It is a step by step video tutorial

    http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/vtm/mamp.php
     
  10. Christina99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #10
    Thanks for that info, it's most appreciated.
    Good tutorial site too.

    Btw,
    I'm looking for a good tutorial on how to import csv files into PhpMyAdmin and how to go from there to create the database.
    I have a csv file which is 2MB, and I'm unable to import it because the max file size is something like 30kb.

    thanks
     
  11. DaReal_Dionysus macrumors regular

    DaReal_Dionysus

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #11
    Your welcome I hope it helped. I did that VTM exactly for these situations. Poor Jim (SrWebDeveloper) can't do everything A Jim lol.
     

Share This Page