PHP/MySQL help with JOIN

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Dimwhit, Feb 12, 2009.

1. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

Dimwhit

I've got a site that I need to expand. I've got a table of users and I need to add other tables (a timesheet, registrations, etc.). So I'm going to need to learn how to use JOIN to work with the multiple tables. Which I've never done before.

What I'm looking for is suggestions on a good tutorial for learning this. I've done some google searches but haven't come up with one that's clicking with me. I do best with good example code with explanation following.

Anyone have a suggestion on a good tutorial?

2. Aea macrumors 6502a

Aea

LEFT JOIN table.column ON table1.column
    INNER JOIN table.column ON table1.column or WHERE table.column = table1.column

I've got quite a bit of experience with writing SQL, but JOINs are genuinely simple.

Edit: Post your schema & tables / columns you want to join if you're having issues.

Edit2: Rights are more conceptually difficult but I doubt you need them here :)

3. NoNameBrand macrumors 6502

MySQL also lets you use implicit joins:

SELECT tableA.column1, tableB.column3, tableA.column3 FROM tableA, tableB, tableC WHERE tableC.column1 = tableA.column2 AND tableC.column2 = tableB = tableB.column2 AND tableC.column3 LIKE 'foo%' ORDER BY tableA.column1;

That selects data from tables A & B based on data in table C. You'd want indices on the joining columns in A & B, and the search query in C.

4. davethewave macrumors member

this is a working but bad practice.
    take a look on a free sql course, there are plenty on the web.
    bye DV

5. NoNameBrand macrumors 6502

6. Dimwhit thread starter macrumors 68000

Dimwhit

Thanks all! I'm looking to dive into this first part of next week. I'll check out some links and post what I'm trying to do if I can't figure it out. I can tell that it will be fairly easy once I grasp the concept. I just need to get over that hump. :)