PHP Noob totally lost on homework assignment.

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by kitki83, Oct 5, 2008.

  1. kitki83 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I do not understand what I am doing wrong with the assignment and this is online course and the professor has not responded to my questions.
    Let me post the question and my answer. I literally spent 10 hours figuring out why my php files will not work at all, I am calling it a night and hopefully someone can give me advice what is going wrong. I also looked at other classmates code and mine comes very similar to theirs other than naming convention.

    1. Write a program that lets the user choose how many sides a die has and print a random roll with the appropriate maximum values.

    PHP:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    </head>

    <body>

    <?php 
    $die 
    0;  
    $integer 0
    extract($_REQUEST); 
    print <<<
    HERE 
      
    <form
      <
    h3Select the type of dice you want to roll and press ROLL button: </h3
      <
    input name="die" type="radio" value="100" /> Dice of 100<br>    
      <
    input name="die" type="radio" value="200" /> Dice of 200<br>    
      <
    input name="die" type="radio" value="400" /> Dice of 400<br
      <
    input name="die" type="radio" value="1776" /> Dice of 1776<br
      <
    input name="die" type="radio" value="45" /> Dice of 45<br>
      <
    hr />
      <
    input value"ROLL" type "submit"
      </
    form
    HERE
    if (
    $die 0){ 
      print 
    "<p> You picked $die </p>";  


    switch (
    $die){ 
         case 
    45
           
    $integer rand(1,45); 
             break; 
         case 
    100
           
    $integer rand(1,100); 
             break; 
         case 
    200
           
    $integer rand(1,200); 
             break; 
         case 
    400
           
    $integer rand(1,400); 
             break; 
         case 
    1776
           
    $integer rand(1,1776); 
             break; 


    if (!empty(
    $integer)){ 
      print 
    "<p>Your final is $integer !</p>"
      
    $die 0


    ?> 

    </body>
    </html>
    2. Create a web page generator. Make a form for the page caption, background color, font color, and text body. Use this form to generate an html page.

    PHP:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"> 
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"> 
    <head> 
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" /> 
    <title>Website Generator</title> 
    <? 
    if($generate) { //if its the generated content 
        
    extract($_POST); //extracts post vars and show the style 
        
    echo<<<HTMLDOC 
            
    <style type="text/css"
            
    body 
                
    background-color:$bgcolor
                
    color:$fontcolor
                
    font-size:$fontsize
                
    font-family:$fontfamily
                } 
            </
    style
    HTMLDOC
        } 
    ?> 
    </head> 

    <body> 

    <? 
    if($generate) { //show generated content if its generated 
        
    echo "<h2>$caption</h2>"
        echo 
    $bodycontent
        } 
    else { 
    //if not generated page, show the form instead 
        
    echo<<<HTMLDOC 
            
    <div style="width:300px;margin:0px auto;text-align:center"
                <
    form method="post" action="webGenerator.php"
                <
    p>Background Color: <input type="text" name="bgcolor" /></p
                <
    p>Font Color: <input type="text" name="fontcolor" /></p
                <
    p>Font Family: <input type="text" name="fontfamily" /></p
                <
    p>Font Size: <input type="text" name="fontsize" /></p
                <
    p>Page Caption: <input type="text" name="caption" /></p
                <
    p>Body Content: <textarea name="bodycontent" rows="10" cols="40"></textarea></p
                <
    p><input type="submit" name="generate" value="Generate Site" /></p
                </
    form
            </
    div
    HTMLDOC
        } 
    ?> 

    </body> 
    </html> 
     
  2. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #2
    You have a whitespace after your print <<<HERE
    Same goes with HERE;
     
  3. kitki83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3

    What is a whitespace?
     
  4. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #4
    Do you notice that you have a spacing after "print <<<HERE "? remove that emtpy space at the end of the line.
     
  5. kitki83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Thank you, now I am progressing more into this.
     

Share This Page