php woes... can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by msjones, Feb 26, 2011.

1. msjones macrumors 6502

msjones

Hi.

I am creating a website for a friend. I am new to php coding but have managed to get a simple login system up and running using a mysql database. I am wanting to set up a user level system which will display certain page elements depending on the status level set in the database. Here is my code for the login_check.php page:

Code:
    <?php

include 'sql_login.php';

mysql_select_db("database",$con);

$username = $_POST['username']; 
    $password = $_POST['password'];

//Get security Status
    $status=mysql_query("SELECT status FROM hd_users WHERE username='$username'");

$sql="SELECT * FROM hd_users WHERE username='$username' and password=PASSWORD('$password')";
    $result=mysql_query($sql);

$count=mysql_num_rows($result);

// Register $myusername, $mypassword and redirect to file "home.php"
    if($count==1){
    session_register("username");
    session_register("password"); 
    header("location:members.php");

//Define variables for home.php
    $_SESSION['username'] = $username;
    $_SESSION['status'] = $status;

}
    else {
    header("location:staff.php");
    }

mysql_close($con)

?>
    As you can see im grabbing the username and password from the login page and comparing it to the database to allow the user access. All this is working fine.

The $_SESSION['username'] = $username is working to display a greeting message to the user on the members only page. Its the $_SESSION['status'] = $status I am having trouble with. The $status is set from an sql query early in the script. When I run the query on the server is returns the value 1 which is what the users are set to in the db. However I am echoing the output of the $_SESSION['status'] on the members page and its coming up as 0.

There are only two user levels, 1&2 so where is the script getting the 0 from?