Physical install ARECA ARC-1212 Raid Card in MacPro (Mid 2010) ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cristian.huiu, Jan 26, 2012.

  1. cristian.huiu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    #1
    Can anyone teach me how to (physically) install Areca ARC-1212 inside a MacPro (Mid 2010) ?
    This RAID card comes with a cable which at the end has 4 sata's...but drives from MacPro connect directly to sata port from logicboard, so how can i install the raid card ?
    please help me guys !
     
  2. cristian.huiu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    #3
    :(
    it's no other way ?
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
  4. cutterman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #5
    I use this as well. It is a simple and well-made product. If you order it be sure to tell them what card you have so you get the right internal breakout cable.
     
  5. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    If you want to use the HDD bays, No.

    It's the same product I linked in one of the other threads you've asked about this.

    As it happens, it's available from 2 sources, but the one from Maxupgrades is a bit better implementation IMO (better machining on the aluminum trays).
     
  6. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #7
    Err, did you mean "....to use the HDD bays, Yes [ you do want this] ..... " ? That is the exact same page as referred to in your post:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=14227262&postcount=56

    Product 189 at MaxUpgrades.

    Not sure how this does something other than divert SATA signals from the HDDs bays. ;)

    The RAID card probably comes with a cable that you just can't use inside a newer Mac Pro but would work OK in a generic PC. Just like most monitors come with a cable that doesnt' connect to mini-DisplayPort. :)
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    Looking back at it, yeah, this last one could be a bit confusing (reading the OP's latest question and responded to it by quoting for the link wonderspark's post). :eek:

    But I've answered it properly in another thread, which clearly indicated that if the HDD bays are the intended drive locations, the linked adapter is a necessity.

    I suspect the OP is expecting a less expensive product to be linked, such as what can be used in a PC case. Unfortunately, the MP is a niche product within a niche, so inexpensive adapters for 3rd party RAID cards don't exist for these particular bays (since there's more than just cables involved). To skip the HDD bays and stick with 3.5" drives, the usual PC products won't fit, as it's 1x ODD bay too few to do this (i.e. 4 * 3.5" disk backplane that fit in 3x 5.25" bays).

    If 2.5" disks are viable, then using a 4x 2.5" disk backplane that fits in a single ODD bay would be a less expensive alternative. Just need to get a power cable, which is inexpensive and readily available.
     

Share This Page