Picked up a mid-2012 quad core cMP for $250

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Loar, Mar 4, 2017.

  1. Loar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #1
    Picked up a mid-2012 quad core cMP (MD770LL/A), all working great. Do you think I got a good deal? This came with 16GB RAM + 4tb HDDs. Do you think this is worth upgrading to use as a daily driver (I didn't have a desktop before this) & which upgrades would you recommend?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is my first Mac Pro! :)
     
  2. h9826790, Mar 4, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    If the Mac is good enough for your usage, then no upgrade is really required. However, a SSD sure will make your system much more responsive, and you can benefit from it. In general, a 850 Evo is good enough.

    Also, USB 3.0 card is also a useful upgrade in general.

    For CPU, GPU, RAM, Wi-FI ac, BT 4.0...... it depends on your usage.
     
  3. Squuiid, Mar 4, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017

    Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
    Good deal and, yes, worth upgrading to use as a daily driver for sure. It's also pretty fun to do!

    Given how little it cost you I'm assuming you have some spare cash for upgrades. If you want a high end and problem free system (with boot screens) I'd recommend the following:

    Intel Xeon X5680 3.33GHz Six Core CPU (Cost effective upgrade. 3.46GHz CPUs are overpriced IMO)
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/593927-001-...101625?hash=item3d34753539:g:-TgAAOSwB-1YuLZg

    Noctua CPU Thermal paste
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002CQU14A/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

    HyperX Predator PCIe 480GB AHCI SSD (The only compatible PCIe SSD for the Mac Pro that's still readily available)
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00V01C6M8/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

    Apple AC/BT 4.0 WiFi and Bluetooth upgrade
    http://www.osxwifi.com/apple-broadc...-with-adapter-for-macpro-2009-and-macpro-2010

    EVGA GTX 680 2GB (you'll need a PC to flash the BIOS to Mac Edition)
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/EVGA-NVIDIA...402089?hash=item3f766702e9:g:UoMAAOSwax5Yshv1
    Flashing guide: http://www.sugarway.com/evga-gtx680-flashed-for-mac-use/

    Sonnet Allegro Pro USB 3.0 PCIe card (somewhat expensive for a USB 3.0 card but by far the best IMO)
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00XPUHO10/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

    As for RAM, 16GB may be sufficient, and while I wouldn't go for the link below given the ridiculous high cost, it will give you an idea of what you might need if you wish to max out the RAM:

    Transcend 64GB (16GB x 4 Kit) JetMemory DDR3-1600 ECC Registered DIMM 2Rx4 For Mac Pro Mid 2010 /Mid 2012 (TS64GJMA534Z)
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JIJU9V4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

    All the upgrades listed above work perfectly using native macOS Sierra drivers. Just plug and play! There are no glitches, problems or incompatibilities that I have found and you will end up with a very fast and stable Mac Pro ;)
     
  4. utekineir macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #4
    I recently ended up with a 2.4 2010 octo for around the same net cost after selling some of the things that came with it.

    Cost $200 on ebay for 2x 6 core 3.33 cpu

    About $70 on ebay for 48 gb ram

    $20-30 ish to add usb 3 and about that much again for a nice powered hub.

    added Ssd drive of choice, a more recent big platter and a 270x i had sitting in a closet and its a hell of a machine for <1k
     
  5. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #5
    Sorry about the thread hi-jacking - good deal you got btw...
    My Mac Pro has no wifi but has bluetooth. If I had this card, do I need to add antennas for the Wifi? I already have an external antenna for BT (to get a better range than with the inside one), but afaik, there's no wifi antennas in the machine?
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    The 4,1 has the antennas in place ready for the card. The 5,1 all came with a card by default, and so of course the antennas too. I don't know about older models.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    You Mac Pro is the 4,1? If yes, all 3 Wi-Fi Antennas are there. But you may need to remove the processor cage before you can reach them.
     
  8. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #8
    Yep it's a 4,1. Didn't know it came with all the antennas, that's good news. Since they're inside, does that mean the wifi is as bad as is BT (until I did the external antenna mod...)?
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    No as bad as the BT, external antenna can help to get better signal but not required in general.
     
  10. devynbrew, Mar 9, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017

    devynbrew macrumors newbie

    devynbrew

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #10
  11. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #11
    So how do you install that processor? Is it it straight forward enough?

    Search the threads. Super simple on a 2009 single CPU machine (EFI update required) or any 2010-2012 (EFI update NOT required.):

    Pull CPU Tray
    Unbolt heat sink(s)
    Un-clamp and remove stock CPU(s)
    Clean heatsink(s)
    install new CPU(s), clamp and paste
    Re-Bolt heatsink(s)
    Re-install CPU tray

    For single-CPU Mac Pros, the W3680 or 90 will also work. Sometimes cheaper, sometimes more expensive.

    Dual CPU 2009 4,1s require more care... research before doing the upgrade.
     
  12. Squuiid, Mar 10, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017

    Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #12
    Do bear in mind however that X56xx CPUs allow for a higher maximum RAM limit than the W36xx CPUs.
    And yes, it's a VERY simple upgrade unless you have a dual CPU 2009 Mac Pro.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 10, 2017 ---
    Any updates Loar? How have you gotten on?
     
  13. devynbrew macrumors newbie

    devynbrew

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #13
    So, I have a Mac Pro 5,1 with a Quad Core Xeon Processor. Is the W3680 or the X5680 the most likely upgrade option? I'm confused what is what, here.
     
  14. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #14
    Lots and Lots of threads posted here that will clear up any confusion you might have. Here's just one:

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-pro-cpu-compatibility-list.1954766/

    It's the very first thread (a sticky) listed at the top of the Mac Pro forum page.

    Lou
     
  15. devynbrew macrumors newbie

    devynbrew

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #15
  16. Squuiid, Mar 11, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017

    Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #16
  17. Loar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #17
    Thanks all for the great suggestions, much appreciated! Went for the X5680 & a 1TB SSD to start with. 64GB RAM is next on my list.
     
  18. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #18
    Which SSD? 960GB Predator on a Lycom or Angelbird PX1?
     

Share This Page