Picked up a sweet G3 blue iMac on craigs

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by nospeed411, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. nospeed411 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    east coast
    #1
    Had to post the second I picked it up. Its a g3 700 with os9. Absolutely perfect condition with all the goodies. Best 40 bucks I ever spent. Will post pics when I get it up and running tonight.
     
  2. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  3. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #3
    Looking forward to those pictures - nice buy nospeed411! :)
     
  4. MacTech68, Jul 28, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #4
    Interesting. AFAIK, the 700 only shipped in Snow and Graphite.

    Of course, it's possible that somebody has swapped a 700 logic board in or overclocked a 500 Indigo to 700. :eek:

    Or it's one of those logic boards sent in to have the BGA CPU swapped by a third party vendor.

    Pics, if you please! :)

    IIRC, some late 600mhz logic boards actually had a 700mhz CPU clocked down. The last slot loaders were brought down to 600 when Apple began shipping the iMac G4.

    Interestingly, there seems to be some way of finding out what case "colour" the logic board was fitted to. I was always amazed how the original restore image managed to set the desktop picture to the correct colour on first boot-up of the classic OS. It must have been a cleverly crafted "Appearance Preferences", but I never investigated exactly how it was done.
     
  5. applefan1997 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Koreatown, Los Angeles, California
    #5
    Yes, I'm pretty sure the 700 was only in Graphite / Snow, although I've seen mistakenly call the graphite models 'blue' at times.

    And, yes, I've always noticed how the color would match to the OS installed. The same thing happened on the original iBook, I think. I've assumed it was some kind of identifier on the ROM, but come to think of it, maybe the OS was programmed to change it based on the serial numbers, if it was organized according to color?
     
  6. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Over there....
    #6
    i also recently got hold of a 350mhz blue imac in near perfect condition
     
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    Colour was coded in serial number. I don't remember which character exactly it was, but serial decoding sites such as chipmunk.nl are deciphering colour too.
     
  8. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #8
    I recently 'renovated' a G3 350 Mhz installing Panther and 512 MB of ram, it works like a charm for emailing and scanning documents !
     
  9. applegeek13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #9
    Great find! I see G3's on craigslist all the time, usually in good condition. I have a indigo 500mhz about 3ft. to my left. The speakers are very crisp on it, at least compared to my Powermac's speakers.
     
  10. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #10
    Congrats on the purchase! This thread makes me want to pick up a more powerful and more usable iMac G3 than my 350.
     
  11. Blakeco123 macrumors regular

    Blakeco123

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #11
    its funny it seems that in my town people are giving them away for free i picked up one (free) two weeks ago and a special edition went on craigslist but i don't have room for it
     
  12. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #12
    Nice deal! Wish I could come across a 700MHz model. I have a 600MHz Snow, and its amazing. I would love to have the fastest G3 iMac ever made.
     
  13. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #13
    no the logic board was certainly not swapped, they did the same as i ,i had a white 600 model in perfect condition and a graphite 700 also in perfect condition , but i did want the 700 to be white so i just swapped the casing as the white looks better surrounded by my eMac's , and its a lot easier to swap the cases instead of the logic boards ;)
     
  14. nospeed411 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    east coast
    #14
    Update ...

    Ok well the guy told me it was a 700....however once I got it sorted out and running we found it was a 350:mad::mad::mad: I guess I cant be mad cause I only gave him 40 bucks for the whole shooting match. However here are the long awaited and very late pics..This thing looks like it was never used.
    [​IMG]

    Thing is amazingly stable and quick considering it's age and speed. It only has 64 megs of ram..lol. Now here is the million dollar question.?? Can I upgrade the ram and hard drive to run OS X? Now be specific here cause I am a tad on the duh side with old hardware. Going to try to pick up the necessary stuff at the used comp store tomorrow if possible. Also which version of os x will I need? I assume 10.3 correct.
     
  15. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #15
    Wow, that really sucks. I'd really consider seeing if he'll give you your money back and return it. 350MHz iMacs are literally just about worthless these days. Paying money for a 600 or 700MHz model is one thing, but older 400MHz or slower is a different story.
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    You can put up to 1Gb of PC100 and/or PC133 ram in it, at 512Mb per stick. As for the hard drive anything that's IDE/PATA and under 128Gb will do. Once nicely upgraded they make amazing machines. Depending on which version of the 350Mhz you have, you could put an Airport card in it and have WiFi. Of course you'll need an original Airport card and the G3 iMac adapter thing.
     
  17. nospeed411 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    east coast
    #17
    Hey 40 bucks is nothing...besides it's too cute to get rid of..lol Looks awesome in my office, and I wasn't really planning on using it as a regular computer so it's no biggie.

    Besides that I was picking up a project car at a guys house the other day and he saw my apple sticker on the back of my car. He asks me if I wanted an ol Mac? I said sure...turns out I got a fully functioning 700 eMac with all the accessories for free. I still plan on upgrading the the ol iMac just for giggles.
     
  18. MacTech68, Aug 13, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #18
    Yup, what Intell said.

    Actually, 10.4.11 doesn't run too badly once you get a 7200RPM drive and 1GB of RAM.

    That said, the earlier motherboards were only ATA33 so HD access isn't that good, so maxing out the RAM is a good idea as it will hit the HD less often for VM.

    The "Summer 2000"s came in 350-500Mhz and were the first to have ATA66.

    Also, there are different types of PC133 512MB sticks. They must be Low Density Double Sided 16 chip modules (as a generalization). Single sided 512MBs that work in later AGP G4 towers will only show up as 256MB on earlier machines and some of the cheap 512MBs won't work at all.

    Oh... Please make sure you update the firmware to v4.1.9 BEFORE you even BOOT from a 10.2 or later install.
     
  19. dmr727 macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #19
    Once you get 10.4.x on that bad boy, I expect to see a GeekBench score! :p
     

Share This Page