Picking up from UPS question . please help

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by enthawizeguy, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. enthawizeguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #1
    so If i schedule to pick up from UPS is it guaranteed to be there in the morning? It says end of day delivery on my choice? Also how do i know which facilities to pick it up from cause it gives me like 10 choices. I do not want to take a chance of screwing my delivery up.
     
  2. Nde macrumors 6502a

    Nde

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    You can select which UPS store to select if it gives you the option. If it is a regional local UPS store, it can be anytime of the day. But usually, not confirmed, before the end of business day.

    If you don't want to take chances as you have stated, why don't you call UPS directly? Posting here would just result in random answers.
     
  3. Sparkeze macrumors 6502a

    Sparkeze

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Location:
    Indiana
    #3
    When I was picking mine up, the store locations had pickup for the following day and the CC location had pickup the morning of scheduled delivery.
     
  4. Boxmonkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #4
    You get to pick the UPS store of your choice for a small fee of you can will call it at the local sort facility for free. At the UPS store it will be delivered the day it should be attempted at your home, usually in the morning as the driver wants to get rid of all the bulk in his truck. At the hub you'll hafta wait till the driver returns at the building after he's done for the day, unless they're able to pull it off of the truck in the mornin. That requires a bit of advanced notice from you. Will call it ASAP and call to verify that it's available before you head out.
     
  5. enthawizeguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #5
    it shows a bunch of ups stores and then the customer center. the customer center would be the one it ships in to?
     
  6. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #6
    Only way it will be first thing is if you select the main hub for your city, if you select UPS stores, it will be ready whenever they deliver it to that store.
     
  7. enthawizeguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #7
    If i do it now i t should be enough time to have them set it aside for the morning ya?

    ----------

    but how do i find the main hub? is it the one that says customer center?

    ----------

    is this the one i would want to pick it up in the morning?

    UPS Customer Center
    UPS CC - VAN NUYS
    16000 ARMINTA ST, VAN NUYS, CA, 91406-1808
    Tel: 800-742-5877
     
  8. rjlawrencejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    LA/OC/IE
    #8
    Yes, select customer center. If it's there now, have them keep it there and you can get first thing in the morning. For instance, I'm in the Pasadena, Calif. area. I know from past experience the packages are loaded on to the truck in Baldwin Park so Thursday I requested a hold and Friday morning the Watch was in my hands.
     
  9. Sparkeze macrumors 6502a

    Sparkeze

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Location:
    Indiana
  10. enthawizeguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #10
    So how do i find out which one the packages are loaded into in the valley is it mostly likely the van nuys one since thats the closest one to the airport and all that and the only customer center thats showing up?
     
  11. LasersGoPewPew macrumors regular

    LasersGoPewPew

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Location:
    PDX
    #11
    Make sure you choose a customer center for pickup and it should be there in the morning. If you choose a UPS store, it will be sorted onto a truck for delivery to that store at some point during the day.

    https://www.ups.com/content/us/en/shipping/time/service/value_added/hold_pickup.html
     
  12. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #12
    Call and ask?
     
  13. rjlawrencejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    LA/OC/IE
    #13
    If you're in the Valley, I'm sure Van Nuys is the main hub. Where is your package now, Ontario?

    Do have an old tracking number from UPS to your current address? You might be able to see where it was loaded on the truck. That will likely be the same customer center.
     
  14. enthawizeguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #14
    kentucky? should i wait until later today to do it to find out where it goes next? or will that be to late?
     
  15. rjlawrencejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    LA/OC/IE
    #15
    When is it supposed to get to you? I think it will still hit ONT and then from there go to the different hubs. However if you request Van Nuys now I think that will route it there perfectly regardless.
     
  16. enthawizeguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #16
    says tomorrow by end of the day... would it be better for me to request ontario. lol this is confusing, i really don't want to sit around all day tho or take a chance of screwing the delivery up.
     
  17. Riddick11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #17
    UPS Canada question, I know UPS doesn't deliver on weekends here, but I received my Tracking number through Apple yesterday morning, "item has shipped", and it still shows unavailable on the UPS site.

    Does this mean they don't even activate tracking numbers on the weekends?? Like no ones working in the warehouses etc preparing deliveries?

    Just making sure but probably answered my own question.
     
  18. rjlawrencejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    LA/OC/IE
    #18
    Nooo, if you're in the Valley no need to drive all the way out to ONT. At Ontario, they load packages onto huge semi trailers bound for the different hubs throughout California. One of the trucks will head to Van Nuys where it will be unloaded and then sorted for loading on to the brown trucks that come to your door. All you're doing by selecting Van Nuys is making sure it doesn't get loaded on to a brown truck.

    ----------

    Wait until late tonight. You might see a status change.

    ----------

    Nooo, if you're in the Valley no need to drive all the way out to ONT. At Ontario, they load packages onto huge semi trailers bound for the different hubs throughout California. One of the trucks will head to Van Nuys where it will be unloaded and then sorted for loading on to the brown trucks that come to your door. All you're doing by selecting Van Nuys is making sure it doesn't get loaded on to a brown truck.
     
  19. w00tini macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #19
    i did this too. i used the iPad UPS app. it selected the main customer service hub by default, but you could also select a UPS store. the main CS hub will usually be the first stop for the driver since they usually place these locations near the sorting centers.
     
  20. enthawizeguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #20
    alright so i guess ill request the van nuys hub so i can get it in the morning. hopefully it doesn't screw it up
     
  21. SayenCroWolf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #21
    Call UPS or get on their live chat. give them your address and ask them what hub is the one that services your address to be certain.

    If you pick one that ISN'T your hub, then they'll transfer it between them and you might lose a day waiting for it to get there, get unloaded and get sorted to the customer counter. I speak to customers all day long. "Where's my package?". "At the other center, where you told us to send it.". And they have to beat feet across town to get it
     
  22. enthawizeguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #22
    i changed it but its not showing up in my choice calendar now.... and doesn't show changes on my tracking. how long does it take to update?

    ----------

    damn really? i just changed it and the customer service number and chat are closed... so now i might not get it until tuesday?
     
  23. iluvgadgets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    #23
    It takes a few minutes to update, then it will show up along with the address of where you can pick it up. It should be there when it opens in the morning. I did the same thing for my Friday delivery.
     
  24. SayenCroWolf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #24

    MIGHT. I can't say for sure. I'll give you an example:

    My hub services east, and there's another hub servicing west, with downtown being ground zero. If your package came into my hub and you live east, we'll have your package there and hold it at the counter.

    If online you chose the west hub by accident (not knowing which one services your address), I have to transfer it there. By the time we get that on the truck, send it over, they unload it, resort it out and kick it over to their customer counter you could lose a day. All depends on when I'm running that shuttle truck and where the hub-to-hub transfers are in his load.
     
  25. enthawizeguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #25
    Where are you located ? I think . I hope I'll be fine .
     

Share This Page