Pimp my MacPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by porthosmac, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. porthosmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #1
    Actual system:
    MacPro 4.1 2.66 octo (TWO Xeon X5550) 12 GB ram (6X2GB)
    Radeon 5870
    screaming external SAS 6Gb ssd rig

    Working on photography/ video editing

    Planning:

    3.33 Hexa (ONE Xeon X5680) 24 GB ram (3X 8GB) for about 2.1K CAD
    I will still have the possibility to double that in the future when the prices will drop.

    Do you think its a good idea?
    I know i will have to update de EFI

    Thanks for your comments
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    I would almost keep it in an 8 core configuration, but I'm not sure. It would be close.
     
  3. derbothaus, Aug 12, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2011

    derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #3
    Not really too much of an upgrade unless all your software is single threaded. I'd get 2 of the highest clocked Quads you can find and afford. You already have the extra socket, why not? A single X5860 is roughly $1500.00. So that is a high ass budget for quads. Unless you meant W3680 which locks you into single proc use only for $600.00.

    Ok so those higher clocked dual QPI quads do not appear to exist unless you want to spend the same as a Dual X5680 setup sorry.
    Get one X5680 now and one later?
     
  4. porthosmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #4
    Yes
    Buy one now and wait for price drop for the second
    I
     
  5. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    I wouldn't. If I were you, I'd use that cash plus the resale value of your existing machine on an upgrade to the next Mac Pro, when the time comes.
     
  6. porthosmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks guys
     
  7. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #7
    Get the 12 Core it is worth it SCREAMS on Final Cut Pro and Compressor (and everything else)
     
  8. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    No, it doesn't.

    Final Cut Pro can't use more than 2 cores.
     
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    Depends.

    Final Cut Pro 7 - No
    Final Cut Pro X - Yes, can use 12 cores

    I'm now going to step out of the way before the FCP7/X flame wars commence. :)
     

Share This Page