Ping works, but safari doesn't.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Tankgunk, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. Tankgunk macrumors regular

    Tankgunk

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #1
    I have an old blue tray load iMac that I just picked up from a school where I do some IT work. I booted it up and couldn't get any networking to work (fresh 10.4.11 install), so I used some 10.4.3 disks to reinstall OS X. I still can't get networking to work, so I did a little more investigation. Ping works with IP addresses and host names, so that rules out DNS problems. Curl and Software Update also don't work, which rules out a problem with Safari. The error I get with Safari is "lost network connection". Any ideas? Is it possible that ping would work perfectly with a "bad" ethernet adapter?
     
  2. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #2
    Can you please explain what type of Network connection you are talking about?
     
  3. Tankgunk thread starter macrumors regular

    Tankgunk

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #3
    Ethernet. I'm sorry I forgot; I had a longer post typed and the forum goofed and deleted it...

    Also, it is connected to a router which is connected to the internet, and it gets network settings through DHCP, which works fine for the other two computers on the router. I've tried three ethernet cables, including a crossover cable.

    As far as the type of network connectivity, nothing I've tried works aside from ping.
     
  4. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #4
    Okay Ping will still work even if Safari doesn't. You just need to enter the IP of a DNS server in System Preferences > Network > Show> TCP/IP tab > DNS Servers.

    Definitely a DNS issue.
     
  5. Tankgunk thread starter macrumors regular

    Tankgunk

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #5
    No, that's what I thought at first. I've tried both no DNS settings and my ISP's DNS servers. It doesn't make any difference. Also, with and without DNS settings I can ping host names (eg. www.google.com, MyRealName-MacBookPro.local).

    I should also mention that I tried my ISP's DNS servers on my MBP and had no problems.

    I can also ping the iMac from my MBP, using either it's IP or it's host name.
     
  6. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #6
    Okay try this: Leave the DNS field blank on the Mac, the addresses are fetched from the gateway. You aren't required to have this field filled. Just erase it. Reboot.
     
  7. Tankgunk thread starter macrumors regular

    Tankgunk

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #7
    No dice. And another note, I don't think the ethernet adapter is bad because 10.4.11 was installed from a netboot server.
     
  8. seniorstinky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    What are you able to ping?

    I assume you can ping local host (with DHCP address and 127.0.0.1). Can you ping the default gateway? How about 4.2.2.2?

    If you can ping 4.2.2.2 (or perhaps even if not) have you done a traceroute to it?
     
  9. seniorstinky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    The answer to your ping question is probably not. Unlikely that ICMP would be successful and problems with TCP/UDP would be unsuccessful. Further, you seem to think that DNS works, which shows that UDP is working as well.

    Can you ftp to ftp sites from the command line? I'm leaning towards a browser proxy issue.
     
  10. Tankgunk thread starter macrumors regular

    Tankgunk

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #10
    I tried to connect to my MBP using this command: "ftp ftp://my first name:my password@local IP/"

    Result:

    Connected to local IP.
    220 local IP server (tnftp a number) ready.

    421 Service not available, remote server timed out. Connection closed
    ftp: Login failed.
    ftp: Can't connect or login to host `localIP'


    Also, I can ping localhost, 127.0.0.1, 4.2.2.2, my ISP's DNS, and everything else. I just ran traceroute on 4.2.2.2. Is 13 hops bad luck? My ISP's DNS, which I've tried using previously, comes in at 2 hops.

    Sorry it took me so long to respond, I've been busy today.
     
  11. seniorstinky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    Okay, you are definitely getting to the Internet. I'm leaning on a browser issue. Again, I'd check the browser proxy settings.
     
  12. Tankgunk thread starter macrumors regular

    Tankgunk

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #12
    I just gave up on OS X and dug up my PPC Debian disk, and apparently ethernet/internet doesn't work in Debian either. I made three passes at the configuration and tried both a patch cable and a crossover and it didn't make a difference. Maybe not a browser proxy issue? I'd just give this up, but I think it's very strange that ping works flawlessly and nothing else does. Also, I'd like to have it now as opposed to waiting a couple of months for another one to come around.

    Anyway, I'm doing a clean 10.4.3 install, anyone else want to take a swing at this before I take it to be recycled?

    Another note: I once managed to connect to an AFP share on the iMac (although it took a decade for it to connect). It seemed to work well once it was connected, but I have not been able to replicate the results.
     

Share This Page