pink line across screen help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Gaogier, Oct 12, 2008.

  1. Gaogier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #1
    Hello

    I have a pink line, down my screen, i think the pixels are broken, not sure thought

    What I am asking, is dose anyone else have this?

    Should i phone up apple? if so, what the UK number

    How many months will my mac be gone?

    What details do i need?

    I got the extended 3 years on my mac, 1 year left, first problem.

    If you had the problem had fixed it, how?
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    Here's the international phone support numbers: http://www.apple.com/support/contact/phone_contacts.html
    In regards to the line, if its still there after restarting the computer, its probably a hardware issue. Mail in repairs are only possible for displays and notebook systems so if your computer isn't portable, it'll have to go into a store or Apple-authorized service provider. Most repairs shouldn't take upwards of a week. I would also recommend backing up the information on the computer to an external hard drive in the event that the service techs need to reinstall the operating system.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Call Apple, tell them you have a funky screen and they should fix it even if it were out of warranty.
     
  4. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
  5. Gaogier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #5
    Its the screen, when i take a pic, its still there, but nothing on the pic.

    Anyone know what data i need?
     
  6. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #6
    Not sure what you mean by "data." If the UK techsupport refers you to a store then the Mac Genius can probably see for his/her own eyes what you're describing as far as proof. If you're concerned about backing up your data, if you have OS X Leopard and Time Machine its been taking care of that for you.
     
  7. Gaogier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #7
    got leopard but i dont use time machine.

    by data, i mean, serial number, name, address, date of purchase ect
     
  8. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
  9. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #9
    Ah, generally AppleCare just needs your serial number to get started on troubleshooting the issue, assuming you have the phone support plan. Its only in rare cases if the computer doesn't appear to be registered or whatnot where they may ask for phone number or email address to search the database.
     
  10. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #10
    Exactly what happened to my Rev C. iMac G5.

    Invoke AppleCare. If it's a 20" they might be able to repair it. They don't often have the parts for the 17" models though, which means you might get an upgrade to the latest instead (like wot I did).
     
  11. Gaogier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #11
    my mac is, the october 2006 model not sure what version it is, i get confused with these power pc macs Its intel...

    Still not contacted apple, still backing up my hhd.

    I got, 60GB used with somethings... lol

    Will my software work on a different mac then?
     
  12. Gaogier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #12
    Hello

    Still not contacted apple.

    Heres why, all the data i have, is in the loft.

    I have recently come out of hospital for an major operation, and not allowed to walk for 6 months.

    Which was why i have asked for all the details ill need before i will phone apple up.

    Here are some pictures of my screen...
     

    Attached Files:

    • 062.JPG
      062.JPG
      File size:
      242.5 KB
      Views:
      209
    • 061.JPG
      061.JPG
      File size:
      267 KB
      Views:
      383
  13. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #13
    Yep, that's exactly what I saw on my iMac G5 when it developed this issue. At first the line only appeared at times, then it became constant, and then it was joined by a friend. By that time I'd backed up my stuff and had an appointment booked at my local Apple Store.

    It's either a problem on the screen panel or with the cable that links to the panel to the logic board. Either way it isn't going to go away on its own, but the computer will still work whilst its there.
     
  14. Gaogier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #14
    Yeah, still works now... worked fine no line, went into hospital, when i came out, it was like that...

    my mac is a late 2006 model, what model is it?
     
  15. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #15
    It's an Intel model with a Core 2 Duo processor and Merom chipset. Is it a 17" screen? That was the same panel used in the Rev. C iMac G5 I believe.
     
  16. Gaogier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #16
    Seems like it, will they replace the screen then?
     
  17. Gaogier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #17
    All i have, is the date i got the mac, and serial number, rest of my data is in loft.

    Anyone know what data i need when phoning up apple support?
     
  18. jstanier macrumors regular

    jstanier

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Brighton, England.
    #18
    Just describe the problem you have. The process would be made easier if you could physically take it to an Apple Store and show someone in the flesh. Same thing happened on my first monitor.
     
  19. Gaogier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #19
    Sady I can not walk without crutches so I can not carry, get in loft or box it
     
  20. rvdesign macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    London, Sydney
    #20
    pink line across screen help

    Hi, I'm new to these forums, (not sure where/what need to include)


    Anyway, thank you very much for posting your pictures here.
    (thanks to your pics, I was sure my problem was not 1 in a million!)

    I just got the same problem and was panicking after Apple in Australia told me (wrongly) my Mac was out of warranty and also to expect a very, very expensive repair as they NEVER heard of this problem, even thought they have access to Apple's database world wide. - huh ?!

    Here in Brisbane, there's not Apple Store to just walk in with my Mac. (After many difficulties with Apple Australia on the phone, I even considered flying to Sydney to go to the Apple store there, imagine the costs).

    After endless hours fighting with Apple Care Australia to cover my repair, I found here: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2377 that even my Mac was
    supposedly out of warranty (not) Apple does cover this repair for FREE, even if your Mac is out of warranty but is within 2 years of purchase. - Apple Care Australia denies that and tries to make excuses, saying my issue is different (which is not) so, I found myself calling Apple Care USA, where I was assured of this FREE repair for my issue, even if my warranty was up!

    As it happens Apple Australia was reading a serial no. of my 17" PowerBook instead of my 17" MacBook Pro, how annoying!! So, for my relief, my Mac was indeed under warranty and (after many tests over the phone, it was ruled out the video card issue etc.) Apple replaced the LCD screen within 2 days!

    I asked, just to be sure, what the problem was and I was told this:
    "...it's not the nVidia chips sets or mother board, or graphics card, otherwise your screen would be all black and/or you would not have video going on."
    "...it's simply a faulty LCD screen ONLY. - Many screens (a particular batch) have shown with the same or similar problem"

    I hope, this helps many like me, who woke up one morning panicking and could not find help easily even from Apple.

    Cheers,
    Ric

    P.S.
    It was a straight forward screen swap, no need for any date/proof of purchase or anything. No need to backup any data from my hard drive either.
    And I didn't have to take my Mac into any store, as there isn't one here anyway. The report was done over the phone and they ruled out many possibilities.
    (Thank goodness for that, as I'm still recovering from a broken foot made in August '08 and cannot move around easily.)
     
  21. tnhybrid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #21
    Hey folks, my understanding is the pink line (under which I'm typing right now) is indeed an Nvidia chip issue. Just posting this in case another Mac user wanders in with a similar problem.

    Just called Apple - I have AppleCare for another 18 months, but sounds like this is a free repair anyway. They're sending me a Fedex box in which to return <strike>my baby</strike> the computer....here's hoping they're careful. :)
     
  22. MorzillA macrumors 6502

    MorzillA

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #22
    Actually is the LCD screen and not the Nvidia chip, I have about three diff. colored lines on the iMac at work, everything runs top notch except for the lines on the screen.
    ...good thing I have a Mac mini :p


    Good luck with your iMac, please let us know what the outcome is!!!


    :apple:
     
  23. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #23
    Damn, got to work this morning - and discovered a pink line on my 17' (1.83) iMac.
    :(

    First thing I did was come here, and discovered this thread.
    :)

    I don't have apple care - and this machine is easily more than 2 years old.
    Will Apple still help me, or am i a little screwed?
     
  24. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #24
    They'll probably charge you for the repair, but the hardest thing will be getting the replacement part as Apple haven't used those LCD panels for years now. If I were you I'd take it along and get a quote for both cost and time, then you can make a decision as to what to do next.
     
  25. core2kid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #25
    Fix for Nvidia chip failure

    I had a LCD with the pink lines, they were common too, about every 2 inches I saw an inch thick line. After seeing that it was a failure in the Nvidia chip, I ended up stripping the computer down to the motherboard. I saw that there are 3 chips on the bottom of the board, a processor to the right and 2 chips, one of which is the nvidia GPU. I used a heatgun at 1000 degrees and heated both chips for about a minute, holding the heatgun an inch or 2 away and circling the heatgun around the chips. I then let it cool for 20 minutes and reassembled it after applying Arctic Silver 5. I turned it on and all the lines from the LCD are gone. Works fine now.
     

Share This Page