Pixelmator or Photoshop

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Ifti, Jan 12, 2011.

1. Ifti macrumors 68000

I have PhotoShop on my Mac at the moment, but dont really do much with it - just the basics like cropping, resizing etc.

Was thinking of swappin gover to Pixelmator instead - it seem smuch easier to use with plenty of online tutorials.

Anyone have any experience of it??

2. mariocapo macrumors member

I've been using it for like a week now and I like it. It has got to be way limited compared to Photoshop I assume. I don't do heavy stuff either so it works for me. I like the clean interface better than Photoshop. Since I'm a bit of a noob with PS, the menu system seems intimidating. I think when I sit down and really start trying to learn about PS it won't be as bad though. So far in Pixelmator I've found it easy to blur the background of a pic, and turn a picture black and white and then colorize certain aspects. Youtube helped a bit there. I've also worked with levels, and liked the results. I'm curious to see others chime in who are more familiar with both applications though.

3. Ifti thread starter macrumors 68000

Ive never really been able to get into Photoshop - it just seems too large and far, far beyond my photo editing capabilities. Although I have it on my MAC, I only use it at a very basic level, or to import images from my scanner!

Im after something simpler, which is easier to pick up, but something I can do the basics with, such as cropping, resizing etc, as well as blending images togather, and adding the odd special effect on top. Thats really as far as I'd ever need or want to go. Hence the reason why I feel Photoshop is OTT for me.

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

If you're just doing that type of stuff, then pixelmator will be up to the task and then some.