Pixlas 4.1 Mac Pro mod

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AndreeOnline, Mar 26, 2015.

  1. XNorth macrumors regular

    XNorth

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #276
    The question is the wiring ... is the wiring in the same order as the 5,1? Both PSU are 980W, so power shouldn't be a problem for the TDP of your GPU.
     
  2. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
  3. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #278
    You would need to research the outputs on the 1,1 power supply and their wattage limits.
    The wiring for the 1,1 power supply is different from the 4,1 and 5,1.
     
  4. lilins, May 23, 2018
    Last edited: May 23, 2018

    lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #279
    what i thought.

    for me the simplest way would be to take the missing 150w from the 2 empty pcie slots, but i can’t find any kind of cable that would do this. :)

    but a 1.1/2.1 pixlas mod would be muuuch cleaner

    and with this: it’s not so hard

    3DC537F8-11D3-49FD-8BCB-572E3A356181.png
     
  5. lilins, Jun 1, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2018

    lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #280
    So, good news, the 1.1/2.1 pixlas mode is working. the r9 390x work. i have yet to do stress tests!

    only issue for now. under el capitan, it is seen as radeon hd 8xxx 8gb and i have some display glitches in 2d (strangely in 3d all is good) anyone knows how i could set this up?

    under windows it works as a charm.
     
  6. Macschrauber macrumors regular

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #281
    So what rails did you take ?
    How did you rooted the cables thru ?
     
  7. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #282
    first i’ll stress test this, then i’ll make report with cable management and connexion.

    here is quick picture:

    91DA4515-C59C-440B-985F-C502B9149929.jpeg
     
  8. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #283
    So, before benchmarks, here are the mod pictures:


    The whole thing on the table:
    B7A76EA2-A2B0-4CA9-83B4-B6B5DBEAA2C7.jpeg

    PSU plugs: remove psu unplug the psu from case and remove it (undust it maybe)
    47BC09B2-7880-47B3-B2CB-C8769A5400BF.jpeg

    The best tool for this (believe me, the chance your finger are thinner than mines is almost inexistant, and i had to use that to unlock the bottom lock of each plug
    6C29E1FF-EFA2-4221-B2D0-AE991E3ADF6E.jpeg

    like i said it is useful, once you understood how it work you can remove them easily
    7D959934-E876-4F7B-B3CD-FB5A23F9BD2B.jpeg

    They’re out and labelled on both plug and cables sticker
    5DCD6D34-D13E-444B-8921-381DBD2BCA9A.jpeg

    This is the easy connector i used. the ones from 4.1/5.1 pixlas mode are too big for this psu cable section. (standard easy connectore from car parts)
    E9F00FC3-4966-4057-991B-F2CAD95ADE69.jpeg

    as you see the PCIe cable pass in the same location as all the other mlb / psu cable. easy with some tape to hold them together while passing them through the hole.
    C9BCD7A2-256E-4CCB-9656-4615E298BC2E.jpeg

    it’s easy
    16F0C909-7F03-45C2-A0A4-DC7BFE06712E.jpeg

    try to fix the easy connectors not too close so they won’t sit on each other and won’t block the optical cage.
    29E115A5-FDBE-402B-BB93-8AED1B79E8CD.jpeg

    here the PCIe cable pass under the Main Fan cage right under where mlb pcie connectors are located.
    6F16E913-ADA0-4233-8533-212FF8936B36.jpeg

    i have a few more pictures if you want but most of them are here!

    at least the 375w r9 390x power up. i need to do stress test.
     
  9. lilins, Jun 3, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2018

    lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #284
    did a small furmark bench and stress, gpu load 100%

    no issue

    here are passmark scores:

    Mac Pro 1.1(2.1) r9 390x 32gb sataII ssd dual x5365

    https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=103253813321

    Mac Pro 1.1(2.1) r9 380x 24gb sataII ssd dual x5365

    https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=103093528573

    Due to CPU bottleneck the 390x don’t give so much more power, but under windows i’ll try some trixx overclock

    to give some point of view, this is my Mac Pro 5.1 vega64 64gb sataII ssd dual x5690 score

    https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=103084755509

    And i think i found the glitch issue under osx . i may need a DP cable, so i’ll try that!
     
  10. superparati macrumors member

    superparati

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Location:
    London
    #285
    Is there another website where we can find the PCI 8 pin end-open?
    Moddiy doesn't take order right now.

    Would it work if I take a classic cable and cut the end of one side?

    Thanks
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #286
    Yes, just cut the cable and remove the connector is fine. That’s just some super low tech stuff, nothing more than some metal wires with plastic cover. Doesn’t require any special tool.

    I did evenrthing with my Swiss knife, just need a little patient to remove the plastic cover.
     
  12. superparati macrumors member

    superparati

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Location:
    London
    #287
    Thank you, I'll go for the classic cable:)
     
  13. kings79 macrumors regular

    kings79

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    #288
    Great thread!!! :)

    What are on the middle 'thinner' wires? Any pinout Diagrams for the 4,1/5,1 PSU? Most I can find address 12v and are somewhat confusing.

    Is there 5v on the smaller wires in between the thicker 4x GND and 4x 12v wires?
     
  14. HiroThreading macrumors member

    HiroThreading

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    #289
    Totally off topic question: how and where did you purchase that reference R9 390X card?
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #290
    May be, but you don't need to touch those thinner cables. Simply follow this guide and you will be good.

    http://thehouseofmoth.com/mac-pro-pixlas-mod/
     
  16. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #291
    XFX sold one. I’m not sure why you’d want it though. Like an RX 580 performance-wise, but consumes way more power.
     
  17. HiroThreading macrumors member

    HiroThreading

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    #292
    Ah I see, I see. Thanks!

    Yeah, I'm good now. A while ago I was looking for a reference 390X for my Hackintosh. :)
     
  18. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #293
    ebay :)
     
  19. thunder72fr macrumors newbie

    thunder72fr

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    LE MANS, FRANCE
    #294
    Where can i have got a Open-End to Dual 8 Pin (6+2) PCI-E Sleeved Cable (70cm + 10cm)? A reference?
     
  20. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #295
    You can buy any cable and just cut out the connector.
     
  21. thunder72fr macrumors newbie

    thunder72fr

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    LE MANS, FRANCE
  22. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #297
    Sorry, not from me. I just pickup a whatever cable available from toolbox, cut a connecter, then use it for the Pixlas mod. There is no requirement to use 70cm cable. As long as the cable is long enough to finish the mod. You can use whatever extension cable you want to make it longer.

    This is what I've done. Not the most tidiest setup (can't see it normally anyway), but work, and very easy to get whatever setup I want via some short extension cables.
    IMG_4946_filtered.jpg
     
  23. joemgill, Sep 18, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2018

    joemgill macrumors newbie

    joemgill

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Location:
    Orange County
    #298
    Did anybody ever get around to just making the extension cable between PSU and Board with the splices in it? I have a bunch of 4 and 5,1 Cheesegraters I need to do this for, and I think several have dying PSUs, so I'd like to use that cable to make PSU swap easier. I will need about 30 of the cables.
     
  24. Macschrauber macrumors regular

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #299
    1.1 to 3.1 is easy in that way, 4.1 und 5.1 is simply not doable as you cannot buy that Connectors. There You might solder cables to the Logic Board 12V pads. I dont think I would do that but thats your turn...
     
  25. Pressure, Sep 19, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018

    Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #300
    It seems like a normal molex connector. Pretty much like this one. Also the female connector might be 46436-1241.

    Will have to pull my own PSU out back home and confirm.
     

Share This Page