Pixma compatible?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by cnycMac, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. cnycMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #1
    Hi all. First post here. I was thinking of getting the Canon pixma ip 2600 printer. I had the Canon mx310 but returned it because it can't scan wirelessly through time capsule. It did print through time capsule. Since the ip2600 is not sold through the apple store I want to find out if it can print wirelessly through time capsule. Thanks
    http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012413canonpixmaip2600.asp
    http://estore.usa.canon.com/specification.asp?ITEM_ID=37366#
    http://www.adorama.com/ICAIP2600.html
     
  2. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    I've had the IP6600D for two years now and it's great with my AEBS. Should be ok with the TC. BTW, you can't scan through the TC nor the AEBS - they're not designed for that.
     
  3. cnycMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #3
    Thanks. I don't know what an AEBS, but I'm assuming it works wireless like TC. When I bought the Canon all in one the Apple store guy wasn't clear about the wireless scanning incompatibility. I was able to return it. Now I'm going to put a printer only with the TC and get a separate scanner to plug into the iMac only when needed. Too bad the all in one isn't fully compatible.
     
  4. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    AEBS = Apple Extreme Base Station, basically a TC without the hard drive...:)
     
  5. cnycMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
  6. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    You're quite welcome! Enjoy your new printer. :)
     
  7. torkc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #7
    will it work plugged in?

    I have the Canon MX 310 and can't get it to scan while it is connected. What I've read talks about wireless but I have it connected directly to my MAC. Will this only print? Everytime I try to launch the navigator it doesn't open and I get the error message.

    Are there any reasonable all-in-ones that will work?
    Thank you for any advice
    Christy
     
  8. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #8
    Did you install the Mac software and drivers for your MX310?
     

Share This Page