iPhone Planetbeing releases "Signal2"

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by apollo1444, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #1
    now works on GSM and CDMA as well!

    this app will help you know which carrier offers the best service/reception in your area as it tells you which towers your iPhone can see and which one it is connected to

    bit pricey but handy, works on UMTS and LTE
     
  2. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #2
    A little over the top for the average user, but actually very informative and quite cool :cool:
     
  3. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #3
    I guess this would be useful for Sprint, but I have Verizon. It's not like I ever have to look for service.
     
  4. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #4
    Bought signal 1 and signal 2.

    Support planetbeing: he's the reason you have evasi0n on your device
     
  5. headcase macrumors 6502

    headcase

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #5
    +1
     
  6. joju58 macrumors member

    joju58

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #6
    +1

    I'm one of that average user like someone stated in this thread, but definitely going to buy this to support "planetbeing". Also i donated day before JB became available for iPhone5.
     
  7. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #7
    Bought it as a support for Planetbeing, maybe I even will get some use for it also :)
     
  8. anthdci macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #8
    im glad it has been updated, i tweeted asking him to, but disappointed I'll have to buy it again.
     
  9. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #9
    He deserves it ;)
     
  10. tygrubb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10
    He's the reason we can even run it in the first place. :)

    $2.99 isn't too much to say thank you for the tremendous effort to make our mobile computing lives better. I bought v1 before and paid again for v2. Won't ever practically use it, but just wanted to give back a small token of gratitude.
     
  11. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #11
    Yeah it's not as bad as IntelliscreenX, $9.99 when I bought it in 2010, iOS 5 support, then $4.99 upgrade fee for iOS 6 support.

    But I did it anyways...

    And in the case of Signal, it's going to the Godfather of jailbreaks.

    saurik said it well too, and planetbeing, you're buying the app for support for the version you're on.

    If you want infinite support, look elsewhere. Getting lifetime support for buying Angry Birds for $1 I'd imagine isn't as much coding-slavery as getting your unsupported (a la Apple guidelines) tweak running on major re-written iOS versions (even if they look the same, in the case of iOS 5 vs. iOS 6 with not many new feature sets) especially when it's written by one person or maybe a few, as opposed to an entire development team under the umbrella of a company..

    /end rant

    but at the same time, I understand people's frustration with upgrade fees. In the case of planetbeing's work, one shouldn't complain ;) It's not like you can't live without Signal anyways (even though I do find the application cool)
     
  12. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #12
    Here I was all excited to use this but the mapping is way off!! Even after the update today. I have an att cell 2 blocks away (in line of sight) and it's showing me it's connected to a tower in a lake northeast of me! Wonder what's going on?
     
  13. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #13
    Could this because of 4G vs LTE data capabilities ?
     
  14. headcase macrumors 6502

    headcase

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #14
    Could be lots of variables on why its showing you connected to a tower further away, such as the further tower is broadcasting with a stronger signal by design, or the nearby tower is temporarily down, or as the previous poster suggested, you're connected on LTE currently, and that nearby tower isn't yet been upgraded to LTE (assuming of course, its an AT&T tower).

    With networking, there's always lots of variables...
    ;-)
     
  15. hgrimberg macrumors 6502a

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #15
    If there is an option to auto connect to any carrier, why would i want to do it manually?
     
  16. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #16
    It's shown me a tower literally located in a lake though. And everywhere else it's shown a tower I have driven to see if one exists and there is nothing! Something weird is going on with it. And no there is no LTE where I am. I'm on hspa+ att. I've toggled to edge also and the towers are screwed up with that too.
     
  17. stunter2b macrumors member

    stunter2b

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #17
    Looks like a really cool app, I'm tempted to try it since I live in the country and my signal is kinda weak, now was wondering if Verizon would know I'm JB since a regular user can't switch towers..And isn't there a chance of connecting to a tower I shouldn't be on and get charged roaming fees??

    Just curious..
     
  18. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #18
    This app displays information only, it doesn't allow to to connect to a different tower.
     
  19. hgrimberg macrumors 6502a

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #19
    So then what is the point of having this app? Just for the curiosity of knowing what cell tower I am connected to? How could this information help me improving my signal? I dont quite get it.
     
  20. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #20
    Huh. Okay, you got me. I doubt I'll ever have any use for Signal 2, but you're right, we should support him.

    :)

    ----------

    Hmmm. I see, I think.

    You're saying his iPhone is trying to hold onto a -90 dB signal from an LTE array instead of switching to a -60 dB signal from a 4G array?
     
  21. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #21
    Yep. And knowing what towers are nearby.
     
  22. imagineadam, Mar 3, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013

    imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #22
    Cell towers in Lake Superior???
     

    Attached Files:

  23. tygrubb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #23
    Um, keep in mind that it is using Apple Maps.

    Just sayin'.
     
  24. jtn275, Mar 14, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013

    jtn275 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    #24
    Mapping Issue

    First off Thank You Planetbeing.

    I am somewhat disappointed in the Signal2 the mapping ability.
    Like previous posters the App is mapping towers where I know for a fact there are none or even within a few mile radius. ie, in the middle of a large lake.
    Out of the many towers mapped, in my estimation only one is mapped correctly.
    Maybe it will be fixed in the future.
     
  25. apollo1444 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #25
    this has happened to me, when the connection drops to 3G or faux 4G it'll connect me to really nearby towers but when I prefer LTE it connects me to an antenna that it is not particulary close, yet I get good signal around 3-4 bars of LTE.

    LTE is still scarce, I'm guessing with time all towers will be upgraded

    ----------

    it shows you info on the antenna its connected to and which other towers the iPhone can see (meaning you can swap sims and know which carrier has the better gear/coverage/antennas? )

    ----------

    send him feedback over twitter @planetbeing
     

Share This Page