Planetside 2

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by applepie555, May 6, 2013.

  1. applepie555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #1
    Has anyone tried running planetside 2 on a rmbp (15 inch obviously)? How does it run?
     
  2. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #2
    It will run on medium-high settings fairly well. It should average around 40fps. Not amazing but definitely playable. Watch this video for a demo and decide what you think.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wKEAjRa5w6I

    I believe you will need bootcamp as well.
     
  3. Darundal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #3
    You would need BootCamp because currently it's a Mac only program. If you don't want to buy Windows 7 then try porting it, but that might not work.

    I can play Battlefield 3 on my RMBP 13" at around a steady 40 FPS.
    Hope I helped :)
     
  4. applepie555 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #4
    Yeah I know I need bootcamp..it runs like crap on my current Mac.

    40fps during battles isn't that bad, considering how cpu intensive it is, but that was during beta and performance has changed a lot. I haven't found much on how it will run recently, so if anyone has played it recently let me know how it runs
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    Don't you mean "currently it's a Windows only program"?
     
  6. ninja2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #6
    Wow! what settings do you play BF3 at to get 40fps? I had no idea the hd4000 was capable of playing BF3!
     
  7. ozbilge10 macrumors member

    ozbilge10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #7
    At which settings ? I think that's very good :D do you have stuttering problem ? Game runs slow even though you get above 30fps. I have that problem on my rMBP 15"
     
  8. Darundal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #8
    Yeah problem is that I need to really limit the amount of space I take up. The more apps and stuff I download the more BF3 lags :/

    ----------

    Oh sorry. WINDOWS only.
     

Share This Page