Planning on getting a MBA....

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by hockey16, Aug 15, 2011.

1. hockey16 macrumors newbie

so I'm new to mac's and I am thinking about getting a 2011 macbook air (most likely 13")... it would be mostly for web browsing, social networking, school work, a bit of editing (photos, videos, garageband) and possibly some games (not anything too big though)...

my budget would be $1500 at the very most...
    I like the portability of the air but anything could work...

do you think the MBA would be a good fit? or would there be a better option?

Thanks in advance! :)

2. hereyago macrumors member

yes the mba 13 inch is definitely a good fit. it'll do everything that you described. portable. fits your budget.

on the other hand, there are plenty of other portable laptops that do exactly what you just described and also fit your budget.

so basically it's your choice.

3. eckthroi macrumors regular

I got mine for the same thing and it works great. I got the 11" i5/4GB/128 for 1149.00 I also got a 500GB Seagate External, a Knomo Sleeve and an Atlas Backpack - Bought it all from Apple and still paid less than 1500.00 plus got the 100 App Store gift card which made it possible to get iwork plus some extras and no cost. So yes I think if an MBA is what you want then it can definitely be had for under 1500.00

4. hockey16 thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks! my current laptop is a 17" compaq wich is about 4-5 years old so its starting to run slower... plus i really like the mac operating system... :)

thanks... i was looking at the 11" at first but then got thinking about the lack of the sd card slot... but the education discount helps out too with the $50 off the actual laptop and the gift card :)

5. eckthroi, Aug 15, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2011

eckthroi macrumors regular