Plastic White 2.4 vs alu 2.0 vs alu 2.4 macbooks

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by darshan, Nov 1, 2008.

1. darshan macrumors member

Hey guys...

i was a proud owner of the plastic white 2.4 macbook... fortunately i was able to sell it off right before the new ones came out...

however i was a little disappointed that the mid-entry macbook (priced at 1299) was not having the 2.4 ghz processor...

im a uni student just about to graduate... my work load doesnt require that much CPU power ... however it gives me piece of mind knowing that if in future there were to be a new OS or heavy CPU-usage applications ill be in better hands with the 2.4 then with a 2.0

so in a nutshell im wondering on opinions from helpful users to tell me am i going to notice a dramatical difference between 2.0 vs 2.4 new alu macbook ...

i just dont want to feel like i've downgraded by purchasing a NEW MACBOOK having come from using a 2.4 version of the plastic macbook...

so how fast is 400mhz in difference (i.e. OS boot up, application usage) ... and is it worth an extra 300$ :eek: for 400 mhz + 90 GB of HDD?

let me know thx :) (sry for a long post):rolleyes:

p.s. i also wanna consider a RESALE value ... i know macs have great resale value and im wondering (in ur opinion) which would have a minimal loss in dollar value in respect to the two different models of the alu macbooks...

2. petvas macrumors 601

petvas

I think there are many others in the exact same position as you. I would definitely feel that such a purchase is a downgrade. There is about 15% difference in the performance of all CPU intensive tasks. Graphic performance is better on the Alu MB so you wouldn't notice much of a difference. Of course it depends on what you are doing with your laptop.
    I wouldn't buy the 2,0Ghz because I would feel that I am getting less than before...