Play Xbox 360 on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by huffy15, Jan 6, 2009.

  1. huffy15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #1
    Hi everybody,

    I want to know if it's possible to play on my xbox by the osx interface. Actually, I plugged it with my vga MS cable but my samsung SyncMaster 2443bw did not show me right the 1920 by 1080 (1080p). The image hidded the side because the image are oversized by a full screen zooming.

    So, Can I plug with my x360 on my Mac Pro to have a 1080p. I tried the elgato hybrid but there is only a rca plug & s-video so no Full HD.

    Thank You so much to help me.
    (Sorry I'm not so good in English)
    Julien
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    why not get an hdmi to dvi converter and plug it into your display using the second source? thats what i do with my ps3.

    eyetv is not the best solution for gaming when ive tried it
     
  3. huffy15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #3
    I only have the 1stgen so I should, in this case, buy the xcm converter but It's expensive and complicated. I have a small plug who convert vga to dvi but no detection by the monitor.
     
  4. huffy15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
  5. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
  6. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #6
    Scalar issue

    Well, I've found out the hard way about this, too - I saw the video. You have two choices, as far as I can tell.

    1) Find in the monitor settings something about mapping - something like "1:1" or "Real". I don't know the french(?) equivilent

    2) Play at 1680x1050.

    The reason you're having this problem is that your monitor's aspect ratio is 16:10 wheras the video is 16:9 - when you play at 1680x1050 (a 16:10 aspect ratio), you will have black bars on the top and bottom. The Xbox's scalar adds on the bars for both a correct resolution for your monitor and allowing the games to render at their native resolution.

    Bad news - no 1900x1200 support. So, either find the "Real" or "1:1" option on your monitor or play at a slightly lower resolution and let your monitor scale it up (which it seems to do just fine on lower resolutions).

    I've been looking around, and at first glance 1680x1050 might not work, nor its 1:1 pixel mapping :confused: I'll look into it more.
     
  7. DavyC412 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #7
    the 360 never supported resolutions covered under the 16:10 AR unfortunatley.

    before i got my LCD TV i had my 360 hooked up to my monitor via analog VGA. i set the resolution to 1366x768, then use the manual controls on the monitor to make it fit the screen. it was slightly stretched, but it works well enough
     
  8. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #8
    Well, I guess I was not clear - they still are outputting a 16:9 resolution, but are adding a-good-few-lines-of-black-pixels to make it run at a 16:10 monitor's native rez.

    I have the black bars and run mine at 1680x1050 on my 22" Acer.
     
  9. huffy15 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #9
    No, I find the problem to my problem. I only needed to plug my x360 to tv and after there is no problem to see a great 1920 by 1080 written on the x360 via VGA hd MS cable. My xbox was just needed to be reset by the display setup.

    I also bought this great converter http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180318040986

    Thank everybody for your help.
     

Share This Page