Played a blu-ray on my Mac Pro yesterday

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SmilesLots, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. SmilesLots macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #1
    I have a MacPro 1,1 and thought I would need to upgrade the graphics card to be able to play blu-ray movies. I have a Sony blu-ray burner in the lower optical bay.

    Yesterday I installed makeMKV and the latest VLC. Archived a blu-ray, opened VLC and the movie played just fine on my 30 in cinema display. For a long time I had heard that Macs do not do blu-ray. But mine does. Whoopie! Now I can do my own blu-ray movies in FCS and play them with VLC. No need for the ATI 5770 after all.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    You can play them fine if you rip them but Blu-Ray playback (i.e. straight from the disc, not via ripping) doesn't work that well.
     
  3. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    You can't stream a blu ray movie from the disc in OSX.
     
  4. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #4
    I play Blu-Ray movies on my G5 every day, the difference is I download them.
     
  5. 20eman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #5
  6. coochiekuta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    here and there
    #6
    is all your hardware even hdcp compliant? last i known osx wasnt.

    in any case, go rent a bluray movie, pop it into your bluray drive and then hit play from disc on vlc.
     
  7. SmilesLots thread starter macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #7


    I used makeMKV to make an archive and played that with VLC. Do not need to rent any blu-ray movies. Got about 100 right now. But I'll give that a try. Best I remember, my equipment is NOT hdcp compliant, which is why I thought I needed a new graphics card like the 5770. And it was such a surprise that I was able to play the ripped archive with VLC.
     
  8. SmilesLots thread starter macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #8
    Just tried to play a BD directly using VLC and the BD drive and as many of you thought, it does not work. But using an archive file made with makeMKV, it does work. I'm still happy cause it gives me an option other than buying another blu-ray player. BD's do take a lot of disk space. Glad I have a 3 TB drive on order.
     
  9. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    You have to start Make MKV's streaming server, then you can open that stream in VLC for disc playback. You lose HD audio but still get AC3 or DTS 51. You also lose subtitles. Details are in my sig.
     
  10. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #10
    All Intel Mac hardware is, its the software that can't do it. Jobs is too scared paying the $30/computer license fee will eat into his 30% profit margin.
     
  11. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #11
    OS X is HDCP compliant. iTunes actually does HDCP output.
     
  12. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #12
     
  13. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    HDCP != AACS/BD+

    <insert random text so the post isn't set to lower caps>
     
  14. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  15. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #15

Share This Page