Playing fallout 3 on my macbook Help please Need advice on What to do

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by neguri, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. neguri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #1
    So here are my macbook specs:
    Macbook White
    2 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
    OS: MAC OS X 10.5.8

    can i play fallout 3 here? i already saw a lot of ppl talking about playing fallout 3 on mac, but i didnt read anything that helped me much...and im so bored, and i love fallout, want to know should i buy it? or there is no hope?

    thanks guys :D
     
  2. pulawman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #2
    I would say the 9400m is prob a no go on Fall Out 3
     
  3. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #3
    I played it on my 2009 MB with the 9400m. I think I used 1024 or maybe 1280 for the resolution, no AA or AF, and low/medium quality settings. I've upgraded to a MBP since then, so I cannot double-check the settings I used.

    It was definitely playable with lowered settings. I never measured fps, but if I had to guess, it was close to 25-30.

    EDIT: This was playing it through Bootcamp, playing it from Steam, if it makes any difference.
     
  4. Venkman90 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #4
    I have the same macbook (late 08 unibody) and I play it on bootcamp now, same settings at above (native res, medium details) and it plays just fine. Some fps lag at times but overall it's as good as it was on my Xbox.
     
  5. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #5
    but doesnt bootcamp only works on MAC leopard OS?
    i got this MAC OS X 10.8
    isnt that no good?
     
  6. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #6
    but what is your OS
     
  7. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7
    Bootcamp works on 10.5.8, you're fine. And you'll need a copy of Windows 7 or XP, of course.
     
  8. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #8
    yea...so should i get the newest bootcamp 3.1?
    btw thanks a lot for the answer bro... :)
     
  9. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #9
    Bootcamp is probably already installed on your mac. Run the app, follow the instructions to install windows, and then on the windows side you'll want to pop in your Mac OSX install disk to get the drivers. Afterwards, run the Apple Software Updater to get the current drivers.

    Key thing to keep in mind, when you're booting up your Mac, when the sound plays and you see the grey screen come up, hold down option (alt) to choose the operating system. From the bootcamp program on the windows side or the system preferences app on the mac side, you can choose which OS boots up by default.
     
  10. Venkman90 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #10
    10.5.8

    And as said above, Bootcamp is pre-installed.
     
  11. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #11
    And it is, i just saw the bootcamp assistant...well im happy now haha, still got a few more questions, when im running windows XP video drivers, sound drivers, well all the drivers, where can i get? at apple? bootcamp website? and what about internet connection? can i get airport to run on windows? well im confused in that part...
    thanks...

    anyways thanks a lot for all the answer guys, that really helped me :eek:
     
  12. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #12
    Guys, im again in trouble...bootcamp can`t partition my HD
    says some archives cant be moved -,-
    what to do? i got enough space, disabled Security Cache ( that kinda made the partition error show up after half an hour of "partitioning" ) i heard defraging the HD works but i dont have idefrag, anyone knows a good freeware?
    UPDATE: defragging right now
    and btw i think i lost my macbook installing DVD or CD(i dunno, since this macbook is not really mine, its my mother, and i think she probably lost it) anyways...can i get another CD OR DVD somewhere?
    oh i think im screwed :(

    thanks
     
  13. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #13
    Do Fallout 3 work on Win 7? Earlier it had huge issues.

    From the faq, they still don't support win 7:
    http://fallout.bethsoft.com/eng/info/faq.html
     
  14. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #14
    Fallout 3 works on Windows 7. I can vouch for that, installed through Steam, 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Win 7.

    As for partitioning your HD for Bootcamp, defragging should work. I had the same issue and read from several people that defragging was a successful option. I, however, didn't attempt that option. I went the long route and did a TimeMachine restore to get my HD to partition.

    That still doesn't help your driver situation... i'm not speaking from experience on this suggestion, but I know you can download the Bootcamp drivers from Apple's download area. You may be able to copy it to a flash drive or burn it to disc and use that to get the Bootcamp manager installed on the Windows side.

    Can someone else verify that the Op can just download the Bootcamp driver's from Apple since they lost their install disc?
     
  15. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #15
    hey deadwulfe, thanks for your answer, but apparently i cant get the drivers from apple...what i read on my research is that i need to pay apple 17$ and they will send me new instalation disks, without money looks like im in trouble :eek:
    anyway, ive been trying to idefrag it, looks like its the only solution, but i cant get the cd maker to work oh well, gotta have another option i guess
     
  16. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #16
    oh man, things are so complicated on a mac im getting so stressed, i used to get stressed on a PC too, but man MAC is like if you dont have money you cant get a solution to your problems without hours of research, thats just lame

    ok takinga deep breath now...
    sorry for the rant
     
  17. frega macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #17
    For the files that cant be moved, search around the internet. Some are reporting (2006) Parallels files are unmovable. Search for these files and delete it. If you cant find them, try making your partition smaller.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=191729&page=7
    see thread.

    For your driver problem, not having the OSX installation disk, you COULD torrent those bootcamp drivers that hackintosh-ers put up on torrent sites.
     
  18. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #18
    hey frega thanks for the answer man...
    so it worked, but the only thing i had to do is start on safe mode and boot camp partitioned fine, after 2 days sweating on my computer this **** worked haha :D
    now im installing windows
     
  19. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #19
    another questions if i might...
    what drivers will i need?
    found lots of torrents, and even on apple website they got a package of drivers, but i read somewhere they are only for recent machines, how to know wich is the right package for me?
    this is confusing
     
  20. frega macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #20
    you cant find these drivers on apple's site. only on torrent site. it'll be called Bootcamp 3.0 drivers or something like that. its basically a buncha folders and a setup.exe file.
     
  21. frega macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #21
    OS X has a safe mode?!
     
  22. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #22
    it does, just had to turn computer off, and then turn it on and hold shift button, wait a few minutes and login, and its safe mode, im actually in safe mode right now :D

    3.0 it is then, thanks man
     
  23. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #23
    so windows is now working :)
    got a version with SP3 and its running already, now for the drivers..
    wish me luck
     
  24. neguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #24
    so im right now posting from windows :)
    everything went well and installing fallout 3 right now
    thanks a lot guys
    if you got any doubt from what i did want help related, ive learned a lot..
    just ask :)
     
  25. frega macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #25
    glad you're successful at installing windows.
    remember, mac is infinitely easier than windows. you just need to know what to do. also remember to update bootcamp to 3.1
     

Share This Page