Playing GTA IV - PC Edition

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CBGFilms, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. CBGFilms macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    I've recently setup boot camp with Windows XP on my Mac, and am getting GTA IV soon as it came out yesterday, I have the iMac 20" 2.66GHz 2GB RAM.

    And it meets the minimum spec for the game, but not the recommended, and I just wanted to know how it will go, and I don't mind having it on low graphics mode.

    Btw, I'm actually upgraded to 4GB RAM after xmas.
     
  2. andychris02 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland (at the moment)
    #2
    I got this game yesterday and installed it, only thing I didn't realise until after installing it was that you need to have, if you're running Windows XP, Service Pack 3 installed.

    Only really started it up after upgrading to SP3 and all seemed to run fine, let it do the benchmark test and set it's own settings, saved the game at the first check-point but it ran well and looked good. Touch wood, I have not had any of the problems that people seem to be having (http://www.eurogamer.net/article.php?article_id=323971) and all seems to be running fine.

    You should have no problems running the game at all, it will run better when you get your 4GB's of ram, but I think 2 should be enough. I suggest letting the benchmark take care of the settings.

    You do need to set up a Windows Live account and also a Rockstar Club account before installing, not a big hassle though.
     
  3. CBGFilms thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #3
    Cool, I do have Service Pack 3, so I should be okay. I think if it says minimum spec, I should at least be able to run it on LOW graphics!

    I'm 13 so my parents said they'll get it tonight or tomorrow, and I'll give them the cash :D
     
  4. CBGFilms thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #4
    Hello everyone, I got it yesterday evening, so last night I posted a video on YouTube showing how it went.
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=uonnxspKaqM

    It went OK, it ran VERY smoothly, but the graphics don't look very smooth.
     
  5. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #5
    wow - looks ok and may I say your little vid there is very good. well articulated and I love the captions :)

    Think I am going to have to go buy that tomorrow (if its reached our little island...)

    :) keep up the vids - love it
     
  6. Holraven macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #6
    Macbook

    I've actually just played a couple of hours on the new 2.4 GHz Macbook with Vista x64 SP1, 4GB RAM and the 9400M with the shared video memory. It's horrendously slow, but it works! Driving is "okay", fighting sequences not so much... And I haven't even begun shooting yet! I'll try on my 2.4 GHz iMac/HD 2600 when I get back home!

    -- Benchmark results --

    Statistics
    Average FPS: 19.63
    Duration: 37.50 sec
    CPU Usage: 92%
    System memory usage: 49%
    Video memory usage: 96%

    Graphics Settings
    Video Mode: 800 x 600 (60 Hz)
    Texture Quality: Low
    Render Quality: Low
    View Distance: 1
    Detail Distance: 1

    Hardware
    Microsoft® Windows Vista" Ultimate
    Service Pack 1
    Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
    Video Driver version: 176.44
    Audio Adapter: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600 @ 2.40GHz

    File ID: benchmark.cli
     
  7. Larsman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio
    #7
    GOT IT! But haven't installed it yet. I plan to run it in VMWare Fusion. Fingers crossed. My hardware's all 'next-gen' and my Windows Vista is 64-bit and Fusion supports the whole x9-9x whatever 3-D graphics acceleration. Everything's up-to-date and optimized for this. My biggest worry is how it'll do when I get a 30" cinema display plugged in!
     
  8. sheebal macrumors newbie

    sheebal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #8
    ^ Trust me, you won't be able to play it on VMWARE. The lag will make you frustrated...

    As for GTA IV, I'm running it on my MBP but the fps is around 20! It's not even a joke how laggy this thing runs on a 8600M GT 512mb.
     
  9. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #9
    Im getting 25-40 fps on my MacBook 2.4 with everything low? But my MBP is extremely slow running this game.
     
  10. gamer2502 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    near Pittsburgh,pa
    #10
    hi

    just saw your video on this and left a comment
     
  11. andychris02 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland (at the moment)
    #11
    Started playing this over the weekend and no problems, have it running on XP SP3 and it goes well. It may slow down on the odd occasion when there's alot happening on screen but very rarely, I have the settings pretty high.

    I may just turn off the music if I can because I did find that the hard-drive gets really toasty, about 48-49ºC (even with the fans set to my 'game' settings when I reboot out of OsX into Windows) after playing this game compared to others.
     
  12. miko0007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    works on early 2008 MBP

    low-med. some 20-35 fps. not too bad, some slow downs here and there, don't even notice. :D
     
  13. Larsman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio
    #13
    Though I'm not really qualified to say so, I am absolutely certain that this is can be done successfully. How to do this is a matter that will take a while. (and a village)

    Anybody buy the downloadable version? I did, off Direct2Drive, and it's turned into a nightmare! It's a 13.8 GB file (that too over 24 hrs. to download) and you need at least that much extra HD space to unzip it! Errors are popping up over and over again.

    Still unsuccessful.
     
  14. Grolubao macrumors 65816

    Grolubao

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    I tried to play the game, but it keeps giving me an error:

    GTA IV Fatal Error: DD3D50

    I believe it has something to do with the Graphic card.

    I'm running a unibody 2.4 MBP...


    HELP!
     
  15. Larsman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio
    #15
    Okay, so I'm reading all the crap online about all the other suckers with these error codes and now at least I know the burden is mostly on the Rockstar developers to figure this out. Here are a couple strategies to point out for those that don't know:

    1. Installing in safe mode I hear is supposed to make a huge difference. And of course the whole laundry list of maintenance scripts and repair / cleaning operations.
    2. Getting the correct driver for your graphics card seems to be the biggest issue, from what I'm reading online. Updated drivers have been released to remedy this, yes, but apparently they don't do much for the mobile versions. This DOX guy is (generously) offering modded versions here:http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=22122&st=0#entry98723

    RESULTS: Nvidia's recently released 180.84 never could install correctly, but DOX's Optimised 180.84 version was a success! Now I'm trying to fix the game itself. My error code is always:

    GTA IV FATAL ERROR: DD3D30
     

Share This Page