Playing 'Macintosh' games in Mac OS X

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Rhythm, Sep 20, 2008.

1. Rhythm macrumors newbie

Right, I'm pretty new to the World of Mac, and indeed these forums, so don't shoot me completely down in flames if this is an obvious question or anything...

So I've just moved to Mac from being on Windows all my life, and one of my favourite games I always played was 'Heroes of Might and Magic 3'. This game is available (obviously) on PC, but also available for Macintosh.

So I was wondering, if I was to get my hands on a Macintosh version of the game, is there some way I can play that on Mac OS X (as I believe Macintosh games won't normally work on Mac OS X, right?)? Through some kind of program perhaps or something? Or if I'll have to use boot camp/parallels etc. to get Windows up and running and playing it through there?

Thanks.

2. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

ergdegdeg

Actually Mac is only an abbreviation of Macintosh so you should be fine with that version.

3. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

gauchogolfer

I'm confused here. Why wouldn't a Macintosh game work fine? Mac = Mac OS X.

4. NorCalLights macrumors 6502a

Heroes is a Mac Classic game (from the OS 7.5–9 days). It won't run natively on OSX, and today's Macintosh computers can't run OS 9. I've heard that there are some emulators that will let you run older games on OSX, but I have never tried them.

It might be easier to install Parallels and run in Windows than try to get one of these unsupported emulators running, but I don't know. Give the archives a search here, then try Google.

Hope that helps...

5. nick9191 macrumors 68040

The game is from 1999, for the classic Mac OS.

This ran fine on OS X under PPC until Intel and Leopard which dropped the Classic environment (not sure if Intel- Tiger still had it).