Playing RED camera footage

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by danpass, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. danpass macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #1
    I came across some RED camera stock footage to mess around with on my MBP.

    But how do I play it?


    I couldn't play the file in Quicktime but could in VLC. But in VLC there was no picture, you just see the cursor running along in the timeline counter.

    I downloaded the codec (I think) from the RED site and now the file will open in QT but the same situation as VLC (with one slight change). The counter will run but this time the window will also expand to the size of the file (720p, 1080p etc).

    There were several files in this footage; 720, 1080, 2048 and R3D (there may have been another)

    After some more googling I'm still not certain if the, for example, 720p pulls from the R3D file to then display video or if its something else.


    Again just want to mess with it, nothing special, not cutting a feature film lol

    Will it work in iMovie 11? I haven't tried to import a file yet to see what happens :D
     
  2. danpass thread starter macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
    Ok so I try to import some of the files. Each one is recognized in the import window (with the R3D file grayed out).

    I pick one of the .mov files and a window comes up saying it cannot find the R3D file.

    I tap Search and pick out the R3D file (now un-gray and available), hit Open ............ and nothing happens.

    What am I missing along the way?
     
  3. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
  4. Kevin Monahan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #5
  5. danpass, Sep 8, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011

    danpass thread starter macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #6
  6. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #7
    Yes you can but Id rather not add that mess to my workflow thanks.
    Of course Im talking about playback.
    I have enough to deal with Avid :p
     

Share This Page